Chicken and Bacon Shish Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by mamalikes2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I cooked these on the grill using charcoal and wood chips for Father's Day and they were enjoyable. I did cook the vegetables on a seperate scewer because I was worried about uneven cooking between the meat and the vegetables. I marinated the chicken over night and the flavor was nice. My only problem was the consistency between the bacon and the chicken getting done, maybe my bacon slices were too big. I used thinner slices of bacon but it overlapped when I wrapped it and I felt like some of the chicken was too done but the bacon was still somewhat flimsy. So I suggest using smaller pieces of bacon and not wrapping it all the way around. I also made some without the bacon and those went over well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamalikes2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Awesome. My husband raved! The only thing I added was some green pepper slices to the skewers for a little crunch. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is an awesome marinade. I did not make kabobs instead I just marinated my chicken breasts overnight then wrapped them with the bacon. While I was waiting for company to arrive I thought I would put them in the oven at 350 for about a half an hr to precook before bbq'ing them. WOW! when we finally got around to bbq'ing them they came out just perfect-so juicy and moist. Picture perfect. Everyone loved them. I stir fryed the mushrooms along with onions. I also thickened the leftover marinate with cornstarch and put this over the meat. Sorry about the long post but just had to thank you for this recipe and what I did with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
These were great for the Fathers Day grilling. I marinated overnight. I loaded 5 on the shewers and that was too tight. The bacon couldn't cook in between the pieces. Chicken was so moist !!! Pineapple was nice complement. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tcsangel
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Shish Kabobs feel like summer!! I LOVE grilled meat and veggies on a stick! These were super easy to make and SO delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Great! Took the advise and boiled the bacon first. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was fantastic even though I forgot to put the pineapple chunks on ! Doubled the batch and didn't feel like remaking 12 skewers since the coals were ready! Doing it again 4th of July weekend at the beach and will review again then. This site rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Excellent. I used chicken tenderloins. Since I was doing shrimp and steak kabobs too, along with veggies, I did not use the bacon although I am sure it too would have been awesome. The marinade was great. I brushed some of the reduced marinade onto the cooking veggies (on separate skewers). This recipe has been saved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I made this minus the mushrooms, used 1 tbsp of honey, that was all I had, so I used 1 tbsp of molasses to substitute. I ended up boiling the sauce mix before I put the chicken in it, after it cooled. I poured the left over sauce over all the shish kabob sticks after I had all the meat and veggies on them, then I grilled them outside. The husband would not stop complimenting the meal! My two picky boys, 11 & 12, even liked the chicken! I served them over white rice. It was a great, fast and easy recipe. Thanks allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! Even my picky husband loved and asked me when I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States