Chicken and Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
This is a family favorite. I modify the recipe slightly by adding a clove of garlic and omitting the butter. I prefer to saute the chicken for a few minutes first, then place all ingredients in a crock pot; the chicken gets very tender this way. I serve it over spaghetti noodles with parmesan. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This recipe was very good. I used whole boneless chicken breasts instead of cutting them up. I also added onion and garlic during the sautee process. Good served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
This was delicious! I used boneless skinless thighs instead (personal preference), left them whole, added 3 cloves crushed garlic into the mushrooms, and doubled up on the sliced mushrooms and artichoke hearts. I left it uncovered during baketime (oops), but it was just fine with the little browning. If I'd have used breasts, it probably would have dried them out. This will be a regular for me, my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Wonderful! This will become a regular meal for us. The chicken is very tender, the sauce is tasty (I used half stock and half sherry) and one of the easiest meals I have ever made. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
The sauce had a nice flavor but next time I will double it. Only changes, I used Enova oil instead of butter and corn starch instead of flour (to make South Beach Diet friendly). Whole family enjoyed and they don't even like artichokes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This recipe was great! Chicken is tender, and mushrooms, artichoke hearts and sherry delicious. I followed an earlier suggestion to use half sherry/half stock which gave it extra flavor. Next time, will try adding garlic in saute step as someone suggested, for a little more punch. Served it over white rice. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I have tried hard to like rosemary, really I have, but to me it tastes the way Pinesol smells. So instead of chopping it up where I might have to bite into a piece of it, I just placed half a sprig on top of the dish before baking to just perfume the food. DH thouht it was wonderful, but next time I'll use bay leaves instead. Also 3 pounds of chicken seemed like a lot, so I just used 2 large-ish chicken breasts. Everything else I kept the same. I did reduce the cooking time a bit to keep from over-cooking the chicken. This tasted incredible before I put on the rosemary, and it's certainly not the fault of the recipe that I can't stand the stuff. Thank you so much for the post, Christyj. I'll be making this again. With bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
This chicken and artichoke casserole has been a favorite in my family for about 35 years. I usually make twice as much sauce and serve it over rice. It's still a hit at potlucks, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burns, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was one of those really hearty meals that I will probably make every once in a while. I wasn't sure what to cook with it and served it with some French Bread. That was delicious with the sauce of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I made this last night but didn't have some key ingredients like mushrooms and sherry but it still turned out really well. My kids loved it (3 and 1) which was shocking but I put it over whole wheat spaghetti and they call it white spaghetti. Will make it into our rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States