Chicken and Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This was very easy to make and tasted nicely. Not sure why the recipe would have this in the oven for 40 minutes?? After browning the chicken, I added garlic to pan (as others have done) then followed recipe until the baking in the oven -- after the mushrooms & sauce were done, I returned chicken to pan, added the artichokes (I used only artichoke bottoms rather than hearts since hearts can have chewy leaves that are hard to eat), then covered & simmered for a few minutes. Turned out wonderfully without baking. Served over brown rice. A very brown-looking dish but tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stilwell, Kansas, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I used a lot more mushrooms and more artichokes in this recipe and only a little olive oil to brown the chicken. The dish wasn't very pretty to look at, but is tasted very good. I served this over brown rice and it was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
The sauce had a nice flavor but next time I will double it. Only changes, I used Enova oil instead of butter and corn starch instead of flour (to make South Beach Diet friendly). Whole family enjoyed and they don't even like artichokes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Not bad. Tasted just fine as-is. Of course, I love artichokes in just about everything. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I thought this was pretty good, with a few adjustments. First of all, i used canned mushrooms because I didn't have fresh on hand. That seemed to work ok. Second, I added minced garlic before cooking the mushrooms in the drippings. Third, I added a little lemon juice to the finished product before serving to add a little zing. Turned out good. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I did not like this recipe. Perhaps it was the brand of artichokes I used, but they gave the sauce a really bitter taste that I didn't like at all! I also don't think the paprika went very well with the flavors of the sauce. I might try it again leaving out the artichokes and paprika and perhaps replacing the sherry with dry white wine, as the chicken itself tasted ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
MMMMM THIS WAS SO GOOD! Other reviewers used garlic so I took up on that and it was a great addition, also I cooked it in the crock pot for 2 hours and WOW yummy it made the chicken so tender. Another person said they didn't like the was the paprika made the sauce look oily, my suggestion is to use a slotted spoon when dishing it up and then you get just the right amount of sauce without the oily look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon and Alaina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
One of the best chicken recipes we've tried. It's not very difficult to make and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I loved this recipe. Will definitely make it again. I used a half pound of mushrooms instead of a quarter, and fileted the chicken breasts instead of cutting them up. I also did not cook for the full 40 minutes. Baked covered for about 25-30 minutes and then uncovered for only about 5 minutes. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This was a good chicken dish. I used whole boneless skinless chicken breasts and followed another reviewer's advise by adding garlic powder to the chicken and I doubled the sauce ingredients and added parsley and less rosemary. I served it over brown rice and my husband really liked it.thanks Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States