Chicken a la Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Will definitely do again! Didn't have regular corn flakes, had Special K Vanilla with sliced almonds and wow! This turned out Great! Thanks for the recipe. I thought the mayo would be overpowering - no way! It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LazyForTheKitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I would like to thank you very much for making this recipe available. I made it a few nights ago and my husband and I really thought it was great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yummytampa
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This chicken was delicious! I couldn't believe how easy, fast and wonderful it was. I was nervous about the dill after reading some other reviews, but made it as is and it was wonderful! I used a Honey Bunches of Oats-type cereal with almonds and the sweetness of that combined with the dill was surprisingly good. It was also extremely moist and the flavors really went all the way through the chicken. One thing I think made a difference is I used Hellman's Mayo for the best flavor (regular - not low fat) and I sprinkled the chicken with salt before coating in the mayo mixture. Also, I took another reviewer's suggetion and crushed the cereal in a ziplock bag before coating the chicken in it. I kept all the measurements the same and just used three boneless breasts - had enough coating left over for one more piece of chicken, but oh well - not too much waste. This is one of our new favorites. Perfect for a weeknight dinner! Next time I'll take a photo since the posted photo doesn't due this recipe justice - it looks very attractive when cooked. Highly recommended! Thank you! Thank you poster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummytampa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Really good, will be using this recipe more often. I substituted bran flakes for the corn flakes and I used fresh dill in the mayo. My kids loved this also. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommeee
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Easy, but bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommeee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I hate mayo! And this recipe was awesome!!!!! So juicy. I didn't have cornflakes, so I used bread crumbs, but I bet cornflakes would be good, too. I followed the recipe exactly except for the bread crumbs, and next time I will not change a thing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZ219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I would give this 5 stars, but I didn't exactly follow the entire recipe. I made the mayo sauce and added just enough milk to make it thin enough for dipping. I used Orange Roughy fillets, dipped them in the mayo mixture, then a mixture of 30 crushed saltine crackers, 2 Tbsp. flour, and 2 Tbsp. instant potato flakes (see Chicken Fried Chicken recipe on this site). Then I fried them in a skillet (flip only once so you don't disturb the coating). Then I drizzled some of the reserved thinned mayo mixture over the fried fillets. It was soooo good! Even my super picky husband really liked it. Just thought the flavors in this mayo sauce seemed more suited to fish. That's what would make it a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was really easy and very good. Next time I'll cut the chicken into strips before coating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
We were not too crazy about this recipe. I'm sure that anyone who LOVES dill will like it, but unfortunately that's not us. Not sure why other reviewers thought this was bland - we thought the dill flavor was WAY too potent (followed the recipe exactly). Hubby said, "if you make it again, change the seasoning". I will try again, but will substitute the dill for garlic or something else we prefer. Also, make sure you crush the cornflakes into small peices, or you'll have a mess when cutting into the chicken. This was my first time using corflakes as a "breading", and I didn't crush them enough. Lastly, I agree with another reviewer - there was no "Allow excess to drip off" - the sauce was too thick for that. I'll update my review when I make it again with changes. I think it will make a nice "base" when modified with a different seasoning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was a nice recipe. I used to do something similar, but using butter before dipping in the cornflakes. This variety actually gave it much more flavor. I will make it again. Kids and hubby liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States