Chicken a la Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Mommeee
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Easy, but bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommeee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I hate mayo! And this recipe was awesome!!!!! So juicy. I didn't have cornflakes, so I used bread crumbs, but I bet cornflakes would be good, too. I followed the recipe exactly except for the bread crumbs, and next time I will not change a thing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZ219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I would give this 5 stars, but I didn't exactly follow the entire recipe. I made the mayo sauce and added just enough milk to make it thin enough for dipping. I used Orange Roughy fillets, dipped them in the mayo mixture, then a mixture of 30 crushed saltine crackers, 2 Tbsp. flour, and 2 Tbsp. instant potato flakes (see Chicken Fried Chicken recipe on this site). Then I fried them in a skillet (flip only once so you don't disturb the coating). Then I drizzled some of the reserved thinned mayo mixture over the fried fillets. It was soooo good! Even my super picky husband really liked it. Just thought the flavors in this mayo sauce seemed more suited to fish. That's what would make it a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was really easy and very good. Next time I'll cut the chicken into strips before coating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
We were not too crazy about this recipe. I'm sure that anyone who LOVES dill will like it, but unfortunately that's not us. Not sure why other reviewers thought this was bland - we thought the dill flavor was WAY too potent (followed the recipe exactly). Hubby said, "if you make it again, change the seasoning". I will try again, but will substitute the dill for garlic or something else we prefer. Also, make sure you crush the cornflakes into small peices, or you'll have a mess when cutting into the chicken. This was my first time using corflakes as a "breading", and I didn't crush them enough. Lastly, I agree with another reviewer - there was no "Allow excess to drip off" - the sauce was too thick for that. I'll update my review when I make it again with changes. I think it will make a nice "base" when modified with a different seasoning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was a nice recipe. I used to do something similar, but using butter before dipping in the cornflakes. This variety actually gave it much more flavor. I will make it again. Kids and hubby liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
WOW! I received many compliments from my husband when I cooked this for dinner. I love to find a chicken recipe that my husband loves. I didn't measure the ingredients and used Special K cereal. Thank you William!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This came out really good. I've made it before, but it was better because I heated the dish before throwing the chicken in this time, and eliminated the soggy bottom issue. For only 2 chicken breasts, I still used 1/2 cup mayo, mixed with granulated garlic, onion, seasoned pepper and celery salt. Coated the chicken with all of it, then the cornflakes. Sprinkled with dill and lemon zest. Yummy dish, and I'd make it again... this way. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I thought this was pretty good, but my husband did not like it at all. He felt it was too dry and did not eat very much. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
My family and I loved this recipe. It was crispy and delicious. I'd pick this over fried chicken any day. I definitely preferred the cornflake crumbs to bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States