Chicken a la King III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I thought this tasted pretty good, for finding it looking for a recipe to use up some cubed chicken. My only changes were using low sodium vegetable broth, reduced fat sour cream, and 1 egg instead of 2 egg yolks. I also cooked it all for a few more minutes, on medium, to cook off any alcohol flavor. I served with some microwaved jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was awful-almost a one star (couldn't eat it) overpowering sour under taste from the sour cream maybe? I used less than half the recommended amount and added some sugar to counteract which helped a little-I added the garlic and onion as some others recommended and added some chicken bouillon to try and correct for the sour taste but to no avail. I really wanted this to be good because we love chicken ala king and haven't found a good recipe. Guess I will keep looking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Wonderful... just added my own spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I'm not the best cook but my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great recipe, although I did add another 1/2 tsp chicken bouillon powder to give more flavor. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was awesome. Easy to make and so incredibly delicious. I had to substitute the sherry for port, the sour cream for non-fat greek yogurt, and I eliminated one egg yolk. All these changes were because I used what I had. My husband who typically won't eat chicken raved about it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I didn't have bell pepper or pimento and I did add onion and garlic, otherwise I made as directed. It was really good! Next time I will double the sauce. I served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
SO GOOD! I ate it on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
It was great! My hubby gobbled it up. I used the leftover meat from a roasted chicken. My family doesn't do mushrooms so I finely diced half of a sweet onion and sautéed it in the butter. I used some homemade chicken broth then added the chicken and a bag of frozen mixed veggies. The sauce was tasty and creamy. I served it over Pillsbury Flaky layers biscuts. This is a keeper and will be added to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I've tried different Chicken a la King recipes and still haven't found one that I like. To this recipe I added onion, garlic, and thyme and I still thought that there wasn't much flavor; it was just OK. I won't make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States