Chicken a la King II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was a excellent version of the Chicken a la King I used to eat as a child. I added 1 1/4 C milk and 1/4 C flour and it turned out perfect. I also added peas and carrots. This is so quick and easy....it's a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
The sauce is thick and pasty. I believe there is a typo in the recipe. I think the milk should be 1 1/2 cups instead of just 1/2 cup. This would make total liquids comparable to other recipes. Also the taste is somewhat bland. Perhaps the ad-dition of 1 tsp worcestershire sauce would jazz it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I added an additional cup of milk, it was too thick using only 1/2 cup. I also added 2 tsp of garlic powder to enhance the flavor and added a small can of drained peas. Overall, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Ditch the pimentos and green peppers and replace with mixed vegetables (corn, peas and carrots - I use a bag of the frozen variety). This is the recipe I remember as a kid and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I cut this recipe in half, since I was only cooking for two. Good thing, because after I added the liquid to the flour it was way to thick. I also think there was a mistake in the recipe, it should have called for 1/4c flour (not 1/2). I didn't have bell pepper so I used onion. I seasoned my chicken with Tony Chacheres before cooking it in a pan with butter. Along with the pimientos I added some peas. It turned out great! I am looking forward to cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I wanted something different than our usual sauteed veggies, chicken, and rice. This was just as simple and very good. I used the whole 1/2 cup flour and 2/3 cup milk instead of 1/2. I had extra broth on hand in case it needed thinned but it turned out fine. I added onions and extra mushrooms and just salted and peppered to taste. Everyone thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I really like this recipe - reminds me of my childhood, having lunch with my mom and sister. I omit the rice though and serve it over a slice of white bread like mom used to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
very good!! I too lessened the flour and increased the milk. It is now a staple for those nights when I get ased whats for dinner. I put it over biscuts too. I is really one of my favorite comfort foods
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mapleton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was a very good recipe and I would make it again. I do recommend...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe for using leftover chicken. Didn't have the bell peppers or pimentos. Had to add and extra cup of milk (making a total of 1-1/2 cups). As other reviewers stated, 1/2 cup flour may be too much. Also added 8 oz frozen mixed veggies. Nice easy dish to prepare...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States