Chicken a la King II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
i LOVE chicken-a-la-king and have tried many different recipes, this one is by far the best, not too thick not too running!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Bursting with flavor, and a nice thick sauce, this recipe is a favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I wanted something different than our usual sauteed veggies, chicken, and rice. This was just as simple and very good. I used the whole 1/2 cup flour and 2/3 cup milk instead of 1/2. I had extra broth on hand in case it needed thinned but it turned out fine. I added onions and extra mushrooms and just salted and peppered to taste. Everyone thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I cut this recipe in half, since I was only cooking for two. Good thing, because after I added the liquid to the flour it was way to thick. I also think there was a mistake in the recipe, it should have called for 1/4c flour (not 1/2). I didn't have bell pepper so I used onion. I seasoned my chicken with Tony Chacheres before cooking it in a pan with butter. Along with the pimientos I added some peas. It turned out great! I am looking forward to cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was a excellent version of the Chicken a la King I used to eat as a child. I added 1 1/4 C milk and 1/4 C flour and it turned out perfect. I also added peas and carrots. This is so quick and easy....it's a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
My entire family loves this! It's great when you have chicken or turkey left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I added an additional cup of milk, it was too thick using only 1/2 cup. I also added 2 tsp of garlic powder to enhance the flavor and added a small can of drained peas. Overall, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
The sauce is thick and pasty. I believe there is a typo in the recipe. I think the milk should be 1 1/2 cups instead of just 1/2 cup. This would make total liquids comparable to other recipes. Also the taste is somewhat bland. Perhaps the ad-dition of 1 tsp worcestershire sauce would jazz it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2000
Really good, but I think a bit too much flour -- a little grainy. Substituting green onions for the peppers was also FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States