Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Everyone in my family loved this! I used broth, fresh mushrooms and peas and it was delicious! Thanks Colleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I have been making this identical recipe since the early 80s. It is so delicious. I usually double it and freeze 2 separate 16 oz containers for future use. I allow it too cool, then seal, and freeze. On cooking day: 45 minutes before serving, remove container from freezer. Dip outside of container in hot water to loosen edges and remove from freezer container and place in large saucepan. Add 1/2 cup water, cover saucepan with lid, and heat on medium low stirring (or turning) every few minutes until hot. I also use fresh mushrooms and add 1/2 cup of broth to make up for not having the reserved liquid from the canned mushrooms. Also, I serve it over Pepperidge Farm Patty Shells, oh so so good. I also use Fat Free half and half instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I jst made this recipe and it came out marvelous! Just as I remembered it when I was a kid. Thank you for this recipe. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This took a lot longer to make than I had originally thought it would. I used different veggies (what I had) and it turned out pretty good, though there was a strong veggie to chicken ratio in favour of the veggies. I used less water to make a bit of a thicker sauce. Next time I would chop the chicken differently- my pieces were too big and too few. Overall a good recipe and would use again, just nothing super fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I just made this tonight and wanted to tell you how fabulous and EASY this recipe is! I left out the mushrooms as my son doesn't like them and as other reviewers said, I used all chicken bouillion in place of the water. I also added peas, carrots and corn at the end , instead of the green peppers and pimento. It is absolutely delicious and will use this recipie for my chicken pot pies from now on too. thank you for sharing this - ALL my picky eaters LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I had never had this before and decided to try it. My first impression is that it is similar to chicken pot pie. I cooked it with noodles, but I think it would be better over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Made as directed except used chicken stock in place of water. Bland until I added a lot more salt and pepper, plus a pinch of spice from Penzy's called Balti. Very good weeknight meal with leftovers for lunches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Great easy dish to make - comfort food - spiced up the chicken and used frozen peas instead of green pepper - served over brown rice but would be great over potatoes or noodles - a keeper recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was very good, quick and easy. Served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Yum, quick easy and a great dinner. Served over biscuits. My husband that eats BEEF said "this is pretty good". Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States