Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Rather than use the chicken breasts, I cooked a whole chicken (which we raised on our farm) and used the meat both white and dark. I sauteed a fresh red pepper, fresh mushrooms and sweet Vadalia onion in butter. I blended the chicken into this mix and folded it into the cream sauce. Also used chicken broth in lieu of water which gave it much more flavor. Made homemade biscuits and served this over them. Delicious doesn't begin to describe this very comforting food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
super yummy used sherry peas carrots and lachoy noodles for crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I'm not sure why you would use canned mushrooms rather than fresh. They have a strange texture and gave the dish a strange, artificial taste. We didn't care much for this recipe, seems like a cheap version of Chicken a la king. I'd advise finding a real recipe with sherry, peas, and real ingredients! Also we found that two chicken breasts was WAY too much chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I was a little worried about making this. To me, a child of the 60's, Chicken a la King consisted of two cans taped together and when ready mixed together. I really can't eat water chestnuts to this day! I added the sherry and it was great. Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Lori KC
Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious and easy. I used fresh mushrooms, gr and red pepper, baby carrots and half the chicken. This recipe made a fantastic sauce to hold it all together. My huband and I both loved it! Thank you Colleen:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Seriously delicious comfort food! With real butter, it's over the top; with better-for-you type butter, it's still good. The time-consuming part is taking the turkey off the bone, esp. if I can't enlist hubby to do it; well worth the effort though and it always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Recipe was great, however I did change ingrediants, and some measurments: Cut water to be 3/4 cup, -- a little grated FRESH Ginger to taste,-- drain well and add I can peas, -- slice, and dice into small pieces 1/2 medium onion: suatee onion in butter until opaque and remove from pan, -- 1/2 teaspoon salt, --double mushrooms:either (2) two cans to 9 oz., or slice 1 cup fresh mushrooms, and sautee with onions until onions are opaque (mushrooms will continue to cook during prep)0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I loved this recipe even my picky son enjoyed it and wanted seconds. I will be making this again wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was comfort food at it's best. The only thing that wasn't comforting about it was the fact that it felt like it was more work than I was wanting to do the night I cooked it. It really wasn't bad, though. Still a quick, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I added more veggies, but the advice I got from this recipe on how to make the sauce was great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisajulie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States