Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This recipe was SO good! I added an extra boullion cube because I thought it was a little bland. I definitely want to try this with peas next time. I seasoned the chicken with Mrs. Dash and sauteed it and used the same pan for this recipe. I also only used half the amount of butter--no need for an entire stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Superb dish.. Used up cream instead of flour and my family loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miluvs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Good base for the dish, but it was quite bland. We added onions, garlic, white pepper (makes big difference), bit of cayenne pepper and what really gave flavour was paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Very good recipe. I added some sliced up celery and carrots, some garlic, and used chicken broth instead of water. Served it over "Fluffy Biscuits" from this site, and it made a very nice meal, with plenty left over that I froze for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Very fail safe, I added 1/2 white onion, 1/2 red pepper, cremini mushrooms, no canned mushrooms, pimento or green pepper. Oh then I added a pinch of red pepper flakes! Mmmmm...good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
me and my kids love this recipe ive altered it a few time using velveta in the cream of mushroom to make a cheesier sauce came out great standard or changed this recipe is a kid pleaser no matter what so to me its a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@Home.Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is REALLY good! Per the suggestion of other reviewers, I threw in some peas (cuz I like 'em) and a little bit of cooking sherry (instead of the reserved mushroom juice). Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Rather than use the chicken breasts, I cooked a whole chicken (which we raised on our farm) and used the meat both white and dark. I sauteed a fresh red pepper, fresh mushrooms and sweet Vadalia onion in butter. I blended the chicken into this mix and folded it into the cream sauce. Also used chicken broth in lieu of water which gave it much more flavor. Made homemade biscuits and served this over them. Delicious doesn't begin to describe this very comforting food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
super yummy used sherry peas carrots and lachoy noodles for crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I'm not sure why you would use canned mushrooms rather than fresh. They have a strange texture and gave the dish a strange, artificial taste. We didn't care much for this recipe, seems like a cheap version of Chicken a la king. I'd advise finding a real recipe with sherry, peas, and real ingredients! Also we found that two chicken breasts was WAY too much chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States