Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Super easy to make, a little bland and this was my changes. I omitted the hot water and used the broth from the chicken I cooked. It was still a little bland. Next time I will add carrots and instead of pimentos, which were flavorless, add some red bell peppers. I served it over rice, which was good but will do biscuits next time. Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I don't care for canned vegetables so used fresh, first sauteed those then onion, celery and green pepper. Did a bullion cube w/ 2 cups of boiling water and then added 2 cups milk, I had to let it thicken for a while as I added a touch too much liquid (didn't have the recipe on me!). I also added maybe 1/3 of a bag of frozen baby peas, as my Mom always made it with peas. I served this with toast and a nice big salad, great comfornting fall meal! Quick and yummy weeknight meal and perfect use for leftover chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IzzyBorden
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I did not use canned mushrooms, though. I bought some sliced and fresh mushrooms at the supermarket. I also used whole wheat flour but you never taste the difference. I added peas as most seem to have and did not add any bell pepper. I do agree that adding some extra chicken bouillon helps with taste. I love using black pepper so added more of that too. I also did not use any pimento. It still tasted extremely flavorful. In order to cook the chicken, I popped it in an oven-safe tray and set the oven to 500. It cooked pretty quickly and came out perfectly tender! Thank you for this recipe! I will be making this again soon! I had this over rigatoni. MMM! I'll be trying it with rice next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
My husband really liked this. I used chicken broth instead of water and added boullion powder to taste. I also added peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This recipe was SO good! I added an extra boullion cube because I thought it was a little bland. I definitely want to try this with peas next time. I seasoned the chicken with Mrs. Dash and sauteed it and used the same pan for this recipe. I also only used half the amount of butter--no need for an entire stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Superb dish.. Used up cream instead of flour and my family loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miluvs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Good base for the dish, but it was quite bland. We added onions, garlic, white pepper (makes big difference), bit of cayenne pepper and what really gave flavour was paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Very good recipe. I added some sliced up celery and carrots, some garlic, and used chicken broth instead of water. Served it over "Fluffy Biscuits" from this site, and it made a very nice meal, with plenty left over that I froze for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Very fail safe, I added 1/2 white onion, 1/2 red pepper, cremini mushrooms, no canned mushrooms, pimento or green pepper. Oh then I added a pinch of red pepper flakes! Mmmmm...good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
me and my kids love this recipe ive altered it a few time using velveta in the cream of mushroom to make a cheesier sauce came out great standard or changed this recipe is a kid pleaser no matter what so to me its a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States