Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I made some substitutions. No pimento or green pepper. Used twice as many mushrooms, fresh if I have them. Frozen peas 12 oz bag. A can of low salt chicken broth. I did not add the salt but used herbs from my garden, a cup of fresh parsley and half cup of chives chopped and fresh thyme leaves to taste, all added with the chicken. Also added sherry 2 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My husband, myself, and 1 one of my kids thought this was bland. My two picky eaters-who sometimes think pepperoni is too spicy-loved it. Definitely depends on your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Very good I used chicken broth instead of water and used the Amish chicken paste instead of the bouillon. Didn't care for the pimento in it tho. Will use frozen peas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lavonne Day

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This was a great easy recipe.. The only changes I made was use fresh mushrooms and added green peas.. I served over biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I poured it over bisquits..whole family loves it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Loved it! Used chicken broth in place of water and added onions to first step. Def going into the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnna Pickett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This Chicken a la King was as good as the reviewers said. I followed the recipe exactly for the sauce but poached chicken pieces (primarily dark meat) and took the meat off the bone. (Wish recipes would specify amount of chicken and not just say for example "4 chicken breasts" -- I think I ended up with about 4, possibly even 5 or 6,cups of chicken meat (even I didn't measure, ha!) and so doubled the sauce. It was the right decision. Used the broth from cooking the chicken instead of boullion and hot water. Used fresh mushrooms, garlic, onions, carrots, peas, and sweet pointed red pepper instead of green pepper and pimiento. Used fresh thyme and some dried mixed herbs along with salt and pepper. DELICIOUS! Once I'd chopped the veg and cooked the chicken, making the dish itself was easy. I did the chicken the day before and chopped the veg early in the day, so it all seemed a breeze. We had it on toast -- I think I would love it on mashed potatoes, so will do that next time. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This brought back memories of eating this as a kid. I used fresh mushrooms and left out the instant bouillon and used chicken stock in place of the water. And added some frozen peas at the end when I added the chicken and served over egg noodles. The whole family liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I used a Costco roasted chicken instead of breasts. I used chicken broth instead of water. I added the 2 Tablespoons of sherry that one person recommend .I followed the recipe beside the mentioned changes. I made pills bury grand biscuits to put it on. My husband said I should make it again. I loved it and it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This was very good and easy. Served over noodles. I did sub the water for chicken broth. This is a keeper. Made this for the second time, added onion, garlic and colored peppers. Doubled the sauce and put broccoli in. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States