Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I haven’t had Chicken a la King since I was a kid, but it sounded good, so I thought I’d give this recipe a try. I’m glad I did. I did make some modifications as other reviewers. I didn’t use the green pepper, but did use a mix of peas and carrots, fresh mushrooms rather than canned, and I did add the pimentos. Instead of bouillon powder and hot water, I used chicken broth and added a couple of extra tablespoons to compensate for the liquid from the canned mushrooms. I also added a splash of sherry, which really elevates this. I served it over hot biscuits and enjoyed a nice “comfort food” dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Quick and easy. Nice flavor. I was worried that this would not have enough flavor but I'm glad I didn't add garlic or onion (which is what my instinct was telling me). I did make some modifications though: I used 4 large fresh stuffing mushrooms, 1 large red pepper instead of a green one, I only used 1 T of butter for sauteing, once everything was mixed I ended up using more flour as the sauce was not as thick as I like it, used a can or chicken stock in place of the bullion+water, and only used 2 large chicken breast. I served this over buttermilk biscuits which was interesting but I think I would have preferred whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very good! Also added in some frozen mixed vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I remember having chicken a la king in elementary school lunches before holidays, and haven't had it since till now. I served this over mashed potatoes like I had it then. Thanks for the memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
What a great tasting dish that can be served many ways. I used fresh mushrooms and didnt have pimentos on hand. Served over rye toast with cranberry sauce. Would be great over wide noodles or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
As written I felt this was a little on the bland side but several different seasonings did the trick. In addition to the suggested vegies I also threw in leftover mixed vegetables I had in the fridge, made this with leftover chicken and served over leftover rice. It just doesn't get any easier than than that. Thank you Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is fantastic and very easy to make. I made it this evening but I added some frozen peas. Really as tasty as I remember having as a kid. I am sorry I didn't find this recipe sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This has the right ingredients to make it the way I remember it. Used fresh mushrooms and maybe a third of the butter and flour, but I always cut down on the butter. I braised the chicken with the peppers and added a little sherry. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I think it could use a little more of a zip. I added a little sage and poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I sauteed 8oz fresh green beans and 1lb of fresh mushrooms in a butter-EVOO mix. Then proceeded to step 2, putting 1/2c butter in a fresh saucepan. No pimentos (only because I didn't have them). Not a fan of cooked green pepper OR canned mushrooms, so hence my changes. Very tasty gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States