Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Loved it...I had 20lbs of smoked turkey and used that instead of chicken and it was like a taste of heaven. ..everyone loved it....no green peppers or pimento's but used green peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I haven't tried this yet because frankly I forgot about it. Used to make it once a week when I was first married 36 years ago. It has all the ingredients I remember except I used to serve in a slightly sweet tart type shell. Need the pepper & pimento to get the a la king flavor...just sayin':) Gonna try it again, hubby will love it (at least he used to!)Got my version from a cook book from 1942
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I was looking for a good basic recipe for this, but and this one suits with some additions. It definitely needed onions and garlic. Without those it would be quite bland. I sauteed the chopped onions with the mushrooms and peppers and added the garlic for the last minute. It came out extremely good and every drop was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Tomlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
have been looking for a recipe like this...and found it...good flavor and an easy recipe to make, even for a beginner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This is a great recipe, although I do use whatever chicken I have on hand, even left over store bought rotisserie on occasion and substitute the water with chicken broth. Other than that I have to laugh at all the people who omit the green peppers and pimento. Those are the two key ingredients that change this from what is basically a chicken stew or a chicken and (biscuits meal. If you don't like the peppers and pimento, you don't like Chicken-A-La-King.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Amazing recipe. I was raised on the canned stuff with a white sauce added & this is very close. I used canned chicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Made this tonight. Used chicken thighs instead of breast meat, added 2T of sherry, a bit of onion, and substituted chicken broth for water. It turned out very thick and gloppy for me, so I ended up using 2 cans of chicken broth to cure the problem. I added a pinch of chili powder to add flavor. Very yummy. I'll definitely make this again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie  Men

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
My husband and I loved it! As with a lot of people, I did make modifications. I left out the green pepper and pimento and used celery instead. At the end when I added the chicken, I also added a small can of peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I had never made Chicken a la King before .... this was an easy recipe and was very good. I took a hint from a another comment and left out the green pepper and added peas. Will definitely make it again. I served it over biscuits. (I also started with raw chicken breasts and simmered them the 1 1/4 cup water with some onion and seasoning salt and then used that liquid in the recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walker, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Good but I found the sauce was too thick and would only use 1/4 cup of flour next time. Also added a little cayenne which gave it a little needed kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States