Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I have been making this identical recipe since the early 80s. It is so delicious. I usually double it and freeze 2 separate 16 oz containers for future use. I allow it too cool, then seal, and freeze. On cooking day: 45 minutes before serving, remove container from freezer. Dip outside of container in hot water to loosen edges and remove from freezer container and place in large saucepan. Add 1/2 cup water, cover saucepan with lid, and heat on medium low stirring (or turning) every few minutes until hot. I also use fresh mushrooms and add 1/2 cup of broth to make up for not having the reserved liquid from the canned mushrooms. Also, I serve it over Pepperidge Farm Patty Shells, oh so so good. I also use Fat Free half and half instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I jst made this recipe and it came out marvelous! Just as I remembered it when I was a kid. Thank you for this recipe. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This took a lot longer to make than I had originally thought it would. I used different veggies (what I had) and it turned out pretty good, though there was a strong veggie to chicken ratio in favour of the veggies. I used less water to make a bit of a thicker sauce. Next time I would chop the chicken differently- my pieces were too big and too few. Overall a good recipe and would use again, just nothing super fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I just made this tonight and wanted to tell you how fabulous and EASY this recipe is! I left out the mushrooms as my son doesn't like them and as other reviewers said, I used all chicken bouillion in place of the water. I also added peas, carrots and corn at the end , instead of the green peppers and pimento. It is absolutely delicious and will use this recipie for my chicken pot pies from now on too. thank you for sharing this - ALL my picky eaters LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I had never had this before and decided to try it. My first impression is that it is similar to chicken pot pie. I cooked it with noodles, but I think it would be better over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Made as directed except used chicken stock in place of water. Bland until I added a lot more salt and pepper, plus a pinch of spice from Penzy's called Balti. Very good weeknight meal with leftovers for lunches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Great easy dish to make - comfort food - spiced up the chicken and used frozen peas instead of green pepper - served over brown rice but would be great over potatoes or noodles - a keeper recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was very good, quick and easy. Served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Yum, quick easy and a great dinner. Served over biscuits. My husband that eats BEEF said "this is pretty good". Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Meal wAs good but not something I wold make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States