Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I'm not sure why you would use canned mushrooms rather than fresh. They have a strange texture and gave the dish a strange, artificial taste. We didn't care much for this recipe, seems like a cheap version of Chicken a la king. I'd advise finding a real recipe with sherry, peas, and real ingredients! Also we found that two chicken breasts was WAY too much chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I was a little worried about making this. To me, a child of the 60's, Chicken a la King consisted of two cans taped together and when ready mixed together. I really can't eat water chestnuts to this day! I added the sherry and it was great. Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Lori KC
Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious and easy. I used fresh mushrooms, gr and red pepper, baby carrots and half the chicken. This recipe made a fantastic sauce to hold it all together. My huband and I both loved it! Thank you Colleen:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Seriously delicious comfort food! With real butter, it's over the top; with better-for-you type butter, it's still good. The time-consuming part is taking the turkey off the bone, esp. if I can't enlist hubby to do it; well worth the effort though and it always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Recipe was great, however I did change ingrediants, and some measurments: Cut water to be 3/4 cup, -- a little grated FRESH Ginger to taste,-- drain well and add I can peas, -- slice, and dice into small pieces 1/2 medium onion: suatee onion in butter until opaque and remove from pan, -- 1/2 teaspoon salt, --double mushrooms:either (2) two cans to 9 oz., or slice 1 cup fresh mushrooms, and sautee with onions until onions are opaque (mushrooms will continue to cook during prep)0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I loved this recipe even my picky son enjoyed it and wanted seconds. I will be making this again wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was comfort food at it's best. The only thing that wasn't comforting about it was the fact that it felt like it was more work than I was wanting to do the night I cooked it. It really wasn't bad, though. Still a quick, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I added more veggies, but the advice I got from this recipe on how to make the sauce was great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisajulie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Excellent and fast to make. I used real mushrooms and added peas from the can. Instead of milk I used cooking cream and less flour. I will surely make this again as it was a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
So I did my own thing with this recipe, but it still has great "bones" for making Chicken a la King. I started off with chicken drumsticks (about 4 lbs) and seared them quickly in about 3 tablespoons of vegetable oil. Took out the chicken when the skin was browned. Sauteed up one medium onion in the remaining vegetable oil. I also added 4 cloves of garlic. I then added 4 cups of water to this and put the chicken back in the pot. Boiled for about 10 minutes, then removed chicken again. In another dish I made the rue using the butter, flour and milk called for in the recipe. Added the rue to the chicken stock. Then added 1 bag of mixed veggies (peas and carrots). I probably tripled the chicken bouillon and also added 1/2 cup of sour cream to this. Finally, I took the skin off the chicken and hand shredded the chicken and added it back to the sauce. Simmer until it boils and serve. I did not use the pepper or chopped pimentos. Was really great and my picky daughter loved it. Lots of flavor and not bland. Just remember to add way more bouillon than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States