Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great recipe! only thing I changed was to add some sherry as another reviewer recommended. I put it over toast points and my family loved it. Thanks for sharing Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseAmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Served this over mashed potatoes and with corn and it was yummy! I added more mushrooms than the recipe calls for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I'd never had Chicken A La King before, but my husband kept asking for it, so I used this recipe. I have to say this was absolutely DELICIOUS! It is creamy, chickeny goodness with a delicate flavor. I read the past reviews and added 1 T of dry sherry (because a previous reviewer recommended it). I had to omit the mushrooms because I didn't have any in the house, but did add 1 cup of peas because my son loves them. I really appreciate the fact that there are only natural ingredients in the recipe. I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Would have been way too bland as written. Added diced onion, garlic, and fresh mushrooms, frozen peas, sea salt, cayenne pepper, and paprika. Used chicken stock in place of water. Served over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this recipe and it was fantastic. I didn't have cooked chicken so I cut up about 2 pounds of chicken breast on the bias in strips and put that into a heavy pan after melting a half a stick of butter. I covered it so it didn't brown and I guess it was more boiled than anything, but in the butter and its own juices. Then I removed this, juices and all into a bowl. Then in the same pan, uncleaned (but also without any brownings), I followed the recipe exactly adjusting for amounts to the amount of chicken. I used canned whole button mushrooms. When I added the chicken and pimento, I also included the butter and juices from cooking of the chicken. Also I used 2% milk rather that whole milk. The whole thing turned out creamy and delicious, but perhaps too buttery, but I didn't want to loose the chicken juices and the butter as let's face it this is culinary gold. Likely in the future I will cut down the butter for the mushrooms and peppers I use for their saute, to offset the use of fresh uncooked chicken. I admit too that I did add frozen peas, because it just seemed appropriate. The end result was delicious. Chicken a la King has such a bad reputation somehow but this was fantastic. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
My Mom used to make this for me when I was a kid. She's fold white bread slices into muffin tins and over toast them, making "crowns", and then ladle the chicken ala king into the crowns. Ahhh memories :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great base recipe! Like the others, I also made a few adjustments. I added 1 TBSP of minced garlic, onion and some mixed veg; I also used a bullion cube instead of instant and omitted the green pepper and pimento. I ate it over Grand! Bicuits. Totally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
It was awesome and easy to make. I replace the green peppers with peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Super easy to make, a little bland and this was my changes. I omitted the hot water and used the broth from the chicken I cooked. It was still a little bland. Next time I will add carrots and instead of pimentos, which were flavorless, add some red bell peppers. I served it over rice, which was good but will do biscuits next time. Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I don't care for canned vegetables so used fresh, first sauteed those then onion, celery and green pepper. Did a bullion cube w/ 2 cups of boiling water and then added 2 cups milk, I had to let it thicken for a while as I added a touch too much liquid (didn't have the recipe on me!). I also added maybe 1/3 of a bag of frozen baby peas, as my Mom always made it with peas. I served this with toast and a nice big salad, great comfornting fall meal! Quick and yummy weeknight meal and perfect use for leftover chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States