Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Chicken a la King is one of my favorite recipes,i resorted to this when i couldn't find my version, which i found right as i went to make it. My Version: I do not like mushrooms at all so when i make this, i use a half of a cup of fresh red and green peppers chopped fairly small. I also use a 1/4 of a cup of fresh white mushrooms diced small. I sauteed them in a 1/2 cup of butter until they are soft, i then remove from heat and mix in a cup of flower, 1tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp of ground pepper. I put back on light heat and simmer until bubbly making sure to stir it constantly so it doesn't scorch. I think keep it on low heat and add 2 cups of chicken broth, and 2 cups of cream, keep on low heat stirring constantly until it come to a boil again, then add your chicken, cook until chicken is heated through. If it seems to thin you can add more flour to thicken it up. I like my thicker as i serve it in puff pastries. With the mushrooms diced so small you still add some flavor that way, but you cant taste them at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Absolutely loved it! My picky adult son devoured his and gave great compliments on it. Everyone thought it was very good. I substituted celery for the bell pepper, and we served this over puff pastry. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is really bland. I followed the recipe with one change, I added peas. I made it because I thought the kids would like it, but even they didn't eat (ages 10 and 7) it. As I ate, I kept thinking the dish would benefit from onions, leeks and garlic, but it's not worth making again to try. Not a fan of chicken a la king.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
DH and I happened to be watching an episode of Diners Drive-ins and Dives and Chicken a la King was being made. We both chuckled about it being a "flashback" to our youth and how long it had been since we'd eaten it (over toast points) or even thought of Chicken a la King. I made some that night using this recipe and we both LOVED it. It's a simple dish to make with everyday ingredients. Thanks for the recipe and the memory. I've added it to my Recipe Box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I am making this recipe tonight and going to use the pastry suggestions but I have never used pastry puffs and I don't know what to do with them, lol, can someone help me out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Satisfying and not difficult to make. I will teach my son to make it himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I grew up on Chicken A La King, but this has been the best version I've tried. Even prompted me to create an account so I could save the recipe. Made it verbatim using left over smoked turkey from thanksgiving. My kids are not fans of mushrooms but they all had seconds on this one. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Dragoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe is a keeper! Followed directions to the T but did add small peas for vegetable content and color! It was GREAT! Kids also loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I made some substitutions. No pimento or green pepper. Used twice as many mushrooms, fresh if I have them. Frozen peas 12 oz bag. A can of low salt chicken broth. I did not add the salt but used herbs from my garden, a cup of fresh parsley and half cup of chives chopped and fresh thyme leaves to taste, all added with the chicken. Also added sherry 2 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My husband, myself, and 1 one of my kids thought this was bland. My two picky eaters-who sometimes think pepperoni is too spicy-loved it. Definitely depends on your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States