Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
I rated this only 3 as it is written. I added lots of seasonings to it as without them, this recipe would have been very bland. I did not use pimento as we aren't fans. I replaced canned mushrooms with sliced fresh. I replaced the water with lower sodium chicken broth. I did not use the chicken bullion powder since I used the broth. I dumped in some frozen peas and carrots. I used both red and green bell pepper just becuase I had both. I used 2 pods minced fresh garlic(next time I'll do 3 as I also added garlic salt). I added some dried thyme and parsley and some cumin. Probably a few shakes of each. I added more black pepper, and I added about 1 tsp. dried minced onion (next time I'll use chopped fresh onion). I also added some celery salt (next time fresh chopped celery). I used about 4 cups purchased, savory rotisserie chicken, pulled off bone in bite-size chunks. Once I added the chicken, I turned the heat to low and just stirred occasionally until chicken was heated through, as I didn't want the chicken to turn to shredded chicken. After all that it turned out quite nice. I served it over biscuits (homemade) which was very good. There are left-overs so next serving will be with noodles - maybe or I may go back to biscuits. I made a salad to go with it and it made a nice meal. My way I would give it a 4.5 or so. It was much more flavorful than it started out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altheimer, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I followed this exact recipe because it was my first time to cook Chicken A La King, upon my husband's request, and he liked it very much! I felt so happy because online recipes can really be great! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Del Mandap

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
My family loved it. I did make a few changes. I love the flavors of tarragon and lemon juice, so I let the chicken breasts marinade in the frig for a couple of hours. Also, I used fresh mushrooms and canned chicken stock instead of powdered. After cooking the chicken chunks, mushrooms, and bell peppers, I removed them from the skillet, deglazed the pan with a little white wine, and then followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Loved it...I had 20lbs of smoked turkey and used that instead of chicken and it was like a taste of heaven. ..everyone loved it....no green peppers or pimento's but used green peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I haven't tried this yet because frankly I forgot about it. Used to make it once a week when I was first married 36 years ago. It has all the ingredients I remember except I used to serve in a slightly sweet tart type shell. Need the pepper & pimento to get the a la king flavor...just sayin':) Gonna try it again, hubby will love it (at least he used to!)Got my version from a cook book from 1942
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I was looking for a good basic recipe for this, but and this one suits with some additions. It definitely needed onions and garlic. Without those it would be quite bland. I sauteed the chopped onions with the mushrooms and peppers and added the garlic for the last minute. It came out extremely good and every drop was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Tomlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
have been looking for a recipe like this...and found it...good flavor and an easy recipe to make, even for a beginner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This is a great recipe, although I do use whatever chicken I have on hand, even left over store bought rotisserie on occasion and substitute the water with chicken broth. Other than that I have to laugh at all the people who omit the green peppers and pimento. Those are the two key ingredients that change this from what is basically a chicken stew or a chicken and (biscuits meal. If you don't like the peppers and pimento, you don't like Chicken-A-La-King.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Amazing recipe. I was raised on the canned stuff with a white sauce added & this is very close. I used canned chicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Made this tonight. Used chicken thighs instead of breast meat, added 2T of sherry, a bit of onion, and substituted chicken broth for water. It turned out very thick and gloppy for me, so I ended up using 2 cans of chicken broth to cure the problem. I added a pinch of chili powder to add flavor. Very yummy. I'll definitely make this again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie  Men

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States