Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
My family loved it. I did make a few changes. I love the flavors of tarragon and lemon juice, so I let the chicken breasts marinade in the frig for a couple of hours. Also, I used fresh mushrooms and canned chicken stock instead of powdered. After cooking the chicken chunks, mushrooms, and bell peppers, I removed them from the skillet, deglazed the pan with a little white wine, and then followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Loved it...I had 20lbs of smoked turkey and used that instead of chicken and it was like a taste of heaven. ..everyone loved it....no green peppers or pimento's but used green peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I haven't tried this yet because frankly I forgot about it. Used to make it once a week when I was first married 36 years ago. It has all the ingredients I remember except I used to serve in a slightly sweet tart type shell. Need the pepper & pimento to get the a la king flavor...just sayin':) Gonna try it again, hubby will love it (at least he used to!)Got my version from a cook book from 1942
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I was looking for a good basic recipe for this, but and this one suits with some additions. It definitely needed onions and garlic. Without those it would be quite bland. I sauteed the chopped onions with the mushrooms and peppers and added the garlic for the last minute. It came out extremely good and every drop was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Tomlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
have been looking for a recipe like this...and found it...good flavor and an easy recipe to make, even for a beginner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This is a great recipe, although I do use whatever chicken I have on hand, even left over store bought rotisserie on occasion and substitute the water with chicken broth. Other than that I have to laugh at all the people who omit the green peppers and pimento. Those are the two key ingredients that change this from what is basically a chicken stew or a chicken and (biscuits meal. If you don't like the peppers and pimento, you don't like Chicken-A-La-King.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Amazing recipe. I was raised on the canned stuff with a white sauce added & this is very close. I used canned chicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Made this tonight. Used chicken thighs instead of breast meat, added 2T of sherry, a bit of onion, and substituted chicken broth for water. It turned out very thick and gloppy for me, so I ended up using 2 cans of chicken broth to cure the problem. I added a pinch of chili powder to add flavor. Very yummy. I'll definitely make this again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie  Men

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
My husband and I loved it! As with a lot of people, I did make modifications. I left out the green pepper and pimento and used celery instead. At the end when I added the chicken, I also added a small can of peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I had never made Chicken a la King before .... this was an easy recipe and was very good. I took a hint from a another comment and left out the green pepper and added peas. Will definitely make it again. I served it over biscuits. (I also started with raw chicken breasts and simmered them the 1 1/4 cup water with some onion and seasoning salt and then used that liquid in the recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walker, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States