Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I gave this a taste and as written I found it to be bland. With the following additions, I was able to make it edible for all of us and we loved it. I added another teaspoon of the bouillon powder, also added garlic powder, onion powder and poultry seasoning. That made a huge difference in taste then we loved it. I will use this recipe again with my additions and will also substitute frozen peas for the green pepper. We all prefer the frozen peas in dishes like this rather then green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I add frozen peas & carrots instead of the pepper strips, and ALWAYS a BIG HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Full of flavor! I was leery that this might be a little bland as is so I dressed it up a tad. Used the ingredient list, plus: Doubled the black pepper, added about 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder during the saute and 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper that went in with the salt and pepper. Recipe didn't say whether to drain the pimento brine or not. I just dumped the whole jar in. Glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I made this recipe AS IS and my wife and I both loved it. The only thing I felt it needed was more salt and pepper to bring out the flavor some more. The green peppers and pimientos go really well with this dish - just make sure you sautée the peppers until tender. On a side note, my wife commented on how this would make an excellent chicken pot pie filling if the peppers and pimientos were replaced by peas and carrots - and I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
havent tried but friend did and it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This is a good "starter" recipe. I took the easier way and thickened with cornstarch when it was all put together (the last 1/2 cup of milk)and it worked out fine. But I also had to DOUBLE the chicken bouillon granules to get any decent chicken flavor from the gravy. As far as the veggies, I went according to the recipe, but added about 1/2 of an onion diced also, and a tad bit of garlic powder for flavor. But as others have posted, peas would be good too in place of the green pepper, it seems you can kind of "play" with this one. All and all it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is very good, and so easy to make. I left out mushrooms because of allergies, but otherwise kept it the same...except for adding a shake of garlic powder. Served over noodles. This will be one of my go to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Chicken a la King is one of my favorite recipes,i resorted to this when i couldn't find my version, which i found right as i went to make it. My Version: I do not like mushrooms at all so when i make this, i use a half of a cup of fresh red and green peppers chopped fairly small. I also use a 1/4 of a cup of fresh white mushrooms diced small. I sauteed them in a 1/2 cup of butter until they are soft, i then remove from heat and mix in a cup of flower, 1tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp of ground pepper. I put back on light heat and simmer until bubbly making sure to stir it constantly so it doesn't scorch. I think keep it on low heat and add 2 cups of chicken broth, and 2 cups of cream, keep on low heat stirring constantly until it come to a boil again, then add your chicken, cook until chicken is heated through. If it seems to thin you can add more flour to thicken it up. I like my thicker as i serve it in puff pastries. With the mushrooms diced so small you still add some flavor that way, but you cant taste them at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Absolutely loved it! My picky adult son devoured his and gave great compliments on it. Everyone thought it was very good. I substituted celery for the bell pepper, and we served this over puff pastry. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States