Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I followed this exact recipe because it was my first time to cook Chicken A La King, upon my husband's request, and he liked it very much! I felt so happy because online recipes can really be great! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Del Mandap

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
My family loved it. I did make a few changes. I love the flavors of tarragon and lemon juice, so I let the chicken breasts marinade in the frig for a couple of hours. Also, I used fresh mushrooms and canned chicken stock instead of powdered. After cooking the chicken chunks, mushrooms, and bell peppers, I removed them from the skillet, deglazed the pan with a little white wine, and then followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Loved it...I had 20lbs of smoked turkey and used that instead of chicken and it was like a taste of heaven. ..everyone loved it....no green peppers or pimento's but used green peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I haven't tried this yet because frankly I forgot about it. Used to make it once a week when I was first married 36 years ago. It has all the ingredients I remember except I used to serve in a slightly sweet tart type shell. Need the pepper & pimento to get the a la king flavor...just sayin':) Gonna try it again, hubby will love it (at least he used to!)Got my version from a cook book from 1942
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I was looking for a good basic recipe for this, but and this one suits with some additions. It definitely needed onions and garlic. Without those it would be quite bland. I sauteed the chopped onions with the mushrooms and peppers and added the garlic for the last minute. It came out extremely good and every drop was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Tomlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
have been looking for a recipe like this...and found it...good flavor and an easy recipe to make, even for a beginner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This is a great recipe, although I do use whatever chicken I have on hand, even left over store bought rotisserie on occasion and substitute the water with chicken broth. Other than that I have to laugh at all the people who omit the green peppers and pimento. Those are the two key ingredients that change this from what is basically a chicken stew or a chicken and (biscuits meal. If you don't like the peppers and pimento, you don't like Chicken-A-La-King.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Amazing recipe. I was raised on the canned stuff with a white sauce added & this is very close. I used canned chicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Made this tonight. Used chicken thighs instead of breast meat, added 2T of sherry, a bit of onion, and substituted chicken broth for water. It turned out very thick and gloppy for me, so I ended up using 2 cans of chicken broth to cure the problem. I added a pinch of chili powder to add flavor. Very yummy. I'll definitely make this again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie  Men

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
My husband and I loved it! As with a lot of people, I did make modifications. I left out the green pepper and pimento and used celery instead. At the end when I added the chicken, I also added a small can of peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States