Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I was never a fan of Chicken A La King but my husband asked me to try making it. I added 2 T. dry sherry and used all chicken broth in place of the water. I also used evaporated milk for the milk. My husband doesn't like chicken breasts so I used boneless chicken thighs and I'm telling you all... it was fantastic!!! We truly loved this dish and it will be a regular on my weeknight table. Not only does it taste wonderful, comforting and homey, it's easy and quick! Thank you Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
539 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBWALTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I have made this recipe for years but instead of the bell peppers I use small baby peas. If you use the frozen variety you don't even need to defrost, just place in mixture at the time you add the chicken. I serve on Puff Pastry Shells which you can find in the frozen food section of you supermarket. I have also served on chow mein noodles or toast points. This recipe freezes well as it makes plenty and can be defrosted on the stovetop or in the microwave. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
510 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
Great recipe. I made some modifications to suit our tastes though. I added an 1/2 a cube of boullion(on top of what was called for) as it seemed to need that extra boost, also I left out the peppers and pimentos and added a cup of peas the last minute or so of cooking. WONDERFUL!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This is a super recipe...I did how-ever not put in the green-peppers,I added an onion chopped instead..and I must say every-one that I have made taste this always wants more.....plus the fact that it is a very easy dish to make is an added bonus.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Yes, this has always been a long-time family favorite of ours. I omitting the chopped pimento's & bell peppers and adding peas & carrots. I also used bouillon cubes instead of powder. I served this over buttermilk biscuits. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exhubby4sale

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I made this recipe and my husband and I love it. The only thing I changed was that I substituted chicken broth for the water and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
My fiance and I LOVED this dish! It was so yummy. We used fresh mushrooms, but added a little chicken broth before the flour mixture for moisture and again at the end with the milk mixture in place of the reserve mushroom liquid. Served over mashed potatoes, it was a SMASH! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This is really bland. I think I'd rather use a recipe that has cream of mushroom soup instead of flour. I had to double up on pepper just to give it some flavor. I doubt I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I used mixed veggies (carrot, peas, corn) instead of the peppers. I also dissolved the bouillon in the prescribed amount of water. Great dish, a hit for all concerned. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
~*~WONDERFUL~*~ I use to make this recipe all the time and then lost my copy of the recipe. I am so very glad that I found it once again, the exact same way I used to make it. Thankyou Colleen. Victoria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Rose-Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States