Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Very good recipe. I added some sliced up celery and carrots, some garlic, and used chicken broth instead of water. Served it over "Fluffy Biscuits" from this site, and it made a very nice meal, with plenty left over that I froze for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Very fail safe, I added 1/2 white onion, 1/2 red pepper, cremini mushrooms, no canned mushrooms, pimento or green pepper. Oh then I added a pinch of red pepper flakes! Mmmmm...good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
me and my kids love this recipe ive altered it a few time using velveta in the cream of mushroom to make a cheesier sauce came out great standard or changed this recipe is a kid pleaser no matter what so to me its a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is REALLY good! Per the suggestion of other reviewers, I threw in some peas (cuz I like 'em) and a little bit of cooking sherry (instead of the reserved mushroom juice). Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Rather than use the chicken breasts, I cooked a whole chicken (which we raised on our farm) and used the meat both white and dark. I sauteed a fresh red pepper, fresh mushrooms and sweet Vadalia onion in butter. I blended the chicken into this mix and folded it into the cream sauce. Also used chicken broth in lieu of water which gave it much more flavor. Made homemade biscuits and served this over them. Delicious doesn't begin to describe this very comforting food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
super yummy used sherry peas carrots and lachoy noodles for crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I'm not sure why you would use canned mushrooms rather than fresh. They have a strange texture and gave the dish a strange, artificial taste. We didn't care much for this recipe, seems like a cheap version of Chicken a la king. I'd advise finding a real recipe with sherry, peas, and real ingredients! Also we found that two chicken breasts was WAY too much chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I was a little worried about making this. To me, a child of the 60's, Chicken a la King consisted of two cans taped together and when ready mixed together. I really can't eat water chestnuts to this day! I added the sherry and it was great. Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Lori KC
Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious and easy. I used fresh mushrooms, gr and red pepper, baby carrots and half the chicken. This recipe made a fantastic sauce to hold it all together. My huband and I both loved it! Thank you Colleen:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Seriously delicious comfort food! With real butter, it's over the top; with better-for-you type butter, it's still good. The time-consuming part is taking the turkey off the bone, esp. if I can't enlist hubby to do it; well worth the effort though and it always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States