Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This was very good and easy. Served over noodles. I did sub the water for chicken broth. This is a keeper. Made this for the second time, added onion, garlic and colored peppers. Doubled the sauce and put broccoli in. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
We thought this recipe was a keeper for sure! Very hearty comfort food! I know some get very critical when one changes a recipe then rates it, but, after reading MANY reviews I made several small changes that worked for us. The method is basically the same just changed and/or omitted some ingredients. 1) cooked up some boneless skinless ckn thighs & breasts sprinkled with some season salt & garlic powder in oven @ 375 for about 25 min. 2) used 1 large tub fresh sliced mushrooms & sauteed them with 2 finely chopped shallots & 2 cloves garlic, pressed--omitted green pepper entirely per lots of reviews. Plus it just didn't sound right! 3) only used about 1/4-1/3 c. flour 4) used 1 c. half-n-half & 1/2 c. 1% milk & added 2 T. dry sherry 5) used 1 1/4-1 1/2 c. ckn broth--use 1 1/4 c. 1st then the rest to thin out sauce to desired consistency, if needed 6) used about 1-1 1/2 c. frozen peas in lieu of green pepper, omitted pimento since almost every review I read said they omitted. Added 1/2 jar coarsely chopped roasted red peppers instead--YUM! Added the peas, chicken and peppers at the same time at the end. Served over hot buttered egg noodles--Yep, it was good! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This is a great recipe for when you need some comfort food and you have leftover chicken. Sometimes I add a can of chicken broth in place of the chicken bouillon and hot water. I love this because there is no cream of chicken soup in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Good. I added onion and used canned milk. I did think that it needed a little something - a bit of garlic powder and dry mustard. Also left out the mushrooms (not a fan, but added frozen peas. Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dovie65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Great! I added 4T of sherry, red instead of green pepper, 2 stalks of celery, and 1 c peas. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Same recipe I've been using for 20 years. It's in the out of print Betty Crocker cookbook. (the good one) Our family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
We made this tonight. We used fresh portabella mushrooms, used some of our homegrown red pepper with the green pepper, chicken stock instead of water and used half and half in place of milk as we had some we needed to use. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Very good recipe. I haven't made chicken ala king in years and was looking for a refresher course. I used a 10oz bag of frozen peas and mushrooms (in place of the red pepper) and 1 can of mushroom stems and pieces. I cut the butter down to 6T (not much, I know, but 1/2 c just seemed like too much). I stirred 1 pod of condensed chicken stock into the hot water instead of bullion. I served over pastry puffs. de-LISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Husband and young son loved this. Served over potato rolls purchased at the bakery. Threw in just a few peas. Also NOTE: freezes excellently, so make some now, throw some in the freezer, have it again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Didn't read all the reviews; however, as one reviewer stated, it was bland. The texture was just right, thick and creamy, but the flavor was lacking, as all eight of us agreed. I even used my own flavorful broth instead of water. Maybe needs onion, garlic...and something else? More herbs and seasonings...cream cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States