Chicken a la Charlie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Great recipe! I used sherry instead of wine - like others suggested. I also used a red onion and spread it in the bottom of the pan, loaded on my favorite seasonings, put the chicken on next, then topped with the mushrooms. I then covered with the sauce and baked. I only used 4 chicken breasts - that way there was a ton of "gravy" so I could serve all in crusty bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This recipe was good, although I wold have added the onion at the start as they weren't cooked enough. Also the cooking time for the chicken was too long so they it was slightly overcooked at the end, so cut down on the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
The whole family really liked this recipe. I did use sherry instead of white wine which was fantastic! Usually when I cook a recipe that uses sherry my kids won't touch it but this one they devoured! Thanks a million :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APPLECARTJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Easy. Tasty. Common ingredients. Low-carb. WINNER! Even better the second day. I tasted it over rice -- delicious! -- but ate the sauce on toasted low-carb bread which was tasty as well. This one's a keeper with such ease of preparation. Very tasty too. Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Pretty good, but unfortunately my chicken was overcooked, perhaps check the chicken when you're about to add the mushrooms/onion after 40 mins. The sauce was yummy. I marinated the chicken with the garlic powder, poultry seasoning,salt/pepper AND some oregano- which adds even more flavour to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
One month left until my girls' dance recital and my part time job at the studio ends for the summer! Until then, I have to rely on easy and quick dinners. This hit the spot Jacki! This recipe is fast and really good. I took Darla's advice and used sherry instead of wine. I love sherry in dishes and this was no exception. Thanks a heap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2003
Absolutely scrumptious! Wouldn't change a thing about it! Plan to make this again soon! So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I have made this twice now and I love it. I put some rice in a bowl then pour the soup mixture and a chicken breast on top. You can use low fat cream of chicken and mushroom and it still turns out just as great! I also used cooking sherry and love the taste! It can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Very good and easy to make! I made it tonight and my fiance had seconds! I did not have cream of mushroom so substituted it with cream of celery. I also added more spices to the chicken such as basil, lemon pepper, and parsley. Also, I thought one onion was a little too much and will use half or a small onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
Hate to be the first to give a negative review - - the wine / chicken flavor was good, but served over rice, it just didn't do it for us. DEFINITELY better once it sits a while and cools off. Although it was very easy and all ingredients were readily available, I won't make this one again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States