Chicken With Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Added bacon with the turkey and used Monterey Jack cheese instead of Swiss. Fried in butter and this was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I think if I followed the recipe exactly this recipe might have been lucky to get 2 or 3 stars, but I followed others' suggestions and it turned out pretty good for a quick easy dinner. Here's what I did: - Sauteed the mushrooms in butter and olive oil with garlic, salt and pepper - Microwave-steamed some green beens until just slightly tender - Combined the mushrooms and green beans with a can of cream of mushroom soup and 1/2c milk - Put the veggies in sauce in the pan, topped them with some fried onions, and then added the sauteed chicken on top. - Added cheese (I used monterey jack because it's what I had on hand) in the last 5 minutes of cooking So basically this was green bean mushroom casserole topped with chicken! And it went over well with my family, even my 2yo ate a pretty good portion. With all my changes I think it could possibly earn 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe was excellent and took barely anytime to prepare. I added garlic powder and some wine to the chicken broth and it tasted amazing. I served it over wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Simple but tasty. Would do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I've made this a handful of times and I'm always amazed at how moist and tender the chicken is. Definitely saute the mushrooms first and thicken the broth afterward, using your preferred method. I like to melt butter on the stove and saute some minced shallots, then add flour to make a roux. Cook for a couple minutes then add the broth and it will thicken up nicely. I also add a little white wine and season as needed. It makes a lovely gravy, and I serve the whole thing over egg noodles with asparagus on the side. It's pretty fool-proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monicakat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I read several reviews and punched up the flour dip with a half shake of cayenne, a half shake of garlic powder, and about 1 teaspoon of paprika (I scaled down for one portion, so do the math for your recipe). Also, I got more flavor by browning the dipped chicken on one side, then ADDING the onions and mushrooms when I flipped it. I baked the chicken alone, while I finished the veggies with three times the wine, and enought butter to smooth out the sauce, which I then poured on top of the chicken at serving time. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My husband thought this was great! I will add more seasonings next time. I added the remainder of the beaten eggs to the broth and it made a nice sauce. Parmesan cheese works, because it was all we had. Great base recipe that we can add to or take away. Served on a bed of brown rice and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Very good but I would add more spices. I love spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Great recipe!! I also made it with the cream of mushroom soup and sauteed the mushrooms with garlic before hand. It turned out delicious with some yellow fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Awesome. My family really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States