Chicken With Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was really good as made but the 2nd time I made it with modifications and it was even better. I sauteed the sliced mushrooms and 1/2 large onion cut julienne style in a little butter, adding some fresh minced garlic the last 2 minutes. Removed to a bowl and de-glazed the pan with a little white wine and sat aside. I used 6 thin sliced boneless chicken breast half's, which works so much better. Seasoned the chicken with some garlic powder, black pepper, and a hint of salt before dredging in the eggs and breadcrumbs. I browned them in a nonstick skillet and baked them for 25 minutes. Added cheese (I have used both muenster and mozzarella and both are great). Then baked another 10 minutes until the cheese melted. I de-glazed then skillet with a little white wine. Scraped the bits from both skillets and combined, made a roux with a little flour and butter allowing the roux to brown slightly. Added 32 oz.'s of chicken broth with a little sprinkle of bouillon powder. Allowed it to simmer while chicken was baking. I used two different skillets so that the mushrooms and onions can saute while I'm browning the chicken, which saves time. When chicken was done I thickened the gravy with a little cornstarch and water and served over white rice. It is a huge hit at my house. It only took about an hour total to prepare and cook. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The recipe as written is very bland. I definitely should have read the reviews/suggestions beforehand. I believe they would have made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Barton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very nice recipe. I have a child that doesn't like cheese, so I leave it off hers. Another doesn't like the mushrooms under the cheese, no problem. I was worried it would be soggy with the broth in the pan, but the flavors were good. Our dog stole a piece off the table and she is not a dog to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I made this as written, but did add salt/pepper. I served the chicken with corn and mashed potatoes. This made for a nice weekday meal that my whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I've been cooking for many years (59 years old) and made this recipe, as written. Well, ok. I used chicken quarters because we prefer dark meat. Both my husband and I loved it. We love chicken, fresh mushrooms and mozzarella so, for us, what was not to like? The taste of each ingredient rang true. Since I cook for 2, I used a small, deep 1.5 quart dish and squeezed the chicken quarters into the dish. The mushrooms (above and below he chicken layer) were piled high. It created it's own great sauce without added ingredients. I prefer to try recipes and rate as written. This one was a winner to me. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I made this recipe but instead of using an egg, I marinated the chicken in some Ranch dressing and the panko bread crumbs stuck to that. I also sautéed 2 cloves of garlic with the mushrooms before assembling this dish. All in all a great and easy dish to prepare and it was good enough for company too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I made this exactly to the recipe and still can't believe how good it is. It is so simple and easy to make. It is in my recipe book and will be made very frequently. It freezes very well, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Very delicious we only put half the mushrooms in the pan then sautied the rest with onion cooked the chicken then put the sautidd onion and mushrooms on top we used dirty rice garlic bread and rosted veggies as sides we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Oh my! This was delish! I like the fact that I did NOT have to sauté mushrooms beforehand....and that it did NOT call for cream soup. I made it exactly as written, and it came out perfect. One of my favs from this site. So, into the rotation it goes, and thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was okay. I did as suggested and added cream of mushroom soup. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States