Chicken With A Bang Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was very good. I used turkey bacon instead to make it a little more low fat. I used diced green chilies in place of the jalapenos.l I also left out the pepper and corn at the end. It didn't really seem necessary. I served it over yellow rice. When the husband says "you should make this again" I know it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Really good! I baked the chicken instead of cooking it in a skillet, and I didn't bother with the corn chips. I also microwaved the bacon for a couple of minutes prior to wrapping it round the chicken, so that it crisped up nicely in the oven. Next time, I'll add some fresh cilantro to the corn/bell pepper mixture. Good stuff! Thanks, Sophie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
A decent go-to recipe. I gave it four stars because it wasn't "amazing" in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
The gravy turned out a hot mess, but the chicken was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Great recipe--1st time I made it with Sauvignon Blanc it was delicious! Second time made it with Chardonnay and green chiles, which left a bitter aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I didn't have bacon in the house at the time, and i didn't have the time for the sauce. My husband really hated it. It was bland. After rereading the recipe i realize what a difference the bacon would have made, i will remake this again, and let you guys know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Stafford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My friends sons made this a few day ago and invited my family. I wasn't sure my husband or my 10 y.o.would like it.They used pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar and the sauce was to be doubled. I told the boys to add some chicken broth and not use the doubled amount of flour, it would be too much. They ended up ony needing a few TBS of flour.They also put the chicken under the broiler to crisp up the bacon. The first thing my husband said was "This is GOOD" after a few more bites he said it was the best chicken he ever had. He took the jalapenos out but liked the flavor they left behind. My 10 year old really liked it too, it was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Used Monterey jack cheese instead of cheddar and a can of green chiles instead of jalapeno rings. Very flavorful. Nice presentation. Only made the chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Great Recipe!! I made it without the jalapeno peppers for the kids. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I diced up the jalapenos, and ended up not making the sauce (ran out of time). The chicken/pepper/cheese/bacon combination was WONDERFUL! My husband and I both loved it. This is a new family favorite for sure! Edit: My hubby and I still love this recipe, but I've made some modifications so it's quicker to make. I've still not made the sauce because the chicken by itself is so good. What I do now is dice the chicken and cook in a pan with a little bit of oil. Then I sprinkle on cooked crumbled bacon, the chopped jalapenos (I use jarred), and the shredded cheese. Put the lid on and let it cook till the cheese melts. It takes a fraction of the time but still tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States