Chicken Wings Pacifica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Made this with skinless Chicken Legs (drumsticks)last night. The trick was cooking in a low oven (325 degrees) for a long time...3 hrs. or so. I bet it would work as well in a slow cooker. The meat literally fell off the bones! It was so delicious! My family went nuts over them! I can't wait to make these again, although I think I'll use low sodium soy sauce next time. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is great, it just works better on the stovetop, with no need to marinate. Brown your meat (good with pork chops too) with the butter or use a little olive oil. Add the soy mixture (we add 2 tsp of minced garlic also), cook uncovered on med high turning occasionally. It will thicken into a wonderful dark glaze and makes the meat tender and succulent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
Pretty good! Very tender and flavorful. If you like the "sweet & sour" kind of taste, you'll like it. Not too sweet, though, which is good. I loved the soy sauce added. I thought it was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I've been making this recipe for years for parties and always get MANY compliments on it. It's a not "too sweet/not too spicy" recipe & good for a crowd. I use about 6 lbs of chicken drumettes and then double the recipe. I also bake at 375 for about 1 hour 45 minutes making sure to baste, and then let the pan sit for a few minutes after removing from the oven, this seems to thicken the sauce a little more - but this is not a thick sauce - it's more of a sticky marinade just coating the wings. And then I just let the wings sit on paper towels when serving...Rave reviews every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I thought this recipe was pretty good! I prepared it today and enjoyed every tasty bite. The chicken was nice and juicy. Of course, I did allow it to rest for about 15 minutes, so that those juices will remain in the chicken. My only change was that I did not use the marinade that the chicken was soaking in while in the refrigerator for 2 hours. I have read that you are not supposed to reuse the marinade that your chicken soaks in. I reserved some of the marinade to cook with and poured that over the chicken while cooking. It was not too sweet and I will try this recipe again. It went great with the green beans and brown rice that I prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Oh YUM! Tried them as per the recipe as well as another time deep frying for crispier wings as we prefer them. But both ways were EXCELLENT!!! The butter makes all the difference. Don't skimp on calories by omitting the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanetCanuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These were tasty and a nice change from traditional Buffalo wings. They were fall-off-the-bone tender. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I added minced garlic and ginger for flavor and the wings turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
good and easy. doubled recipe. did not marinate this. baked and then put in slowcooker. has alot of liquid. would probably reduce next time. used 1/2 soy and 1/2 terriaki instead of all soy. daughter loved them, and so did all at party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I add ground ginger to give it some zip and I delete the water from the recipe. When cooking the wings, I place them on a broiler pan (the type that comes with your oven when you purchase it) and place water in the pan under the broiler. This helps steam the wings. Just before serving, I slather the wings with the sauce and continue to baste for about 30 minutes. This results in sticky wings instead of plain wings with a thin marinade. We serve these with celery sticks and homemade blue cheese dressing. They are great for tailgate parties or any other party. I prepare the recipe times four and freeze the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States