Chicken Wing Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I love this dip and make it frequently. There are a few things I do differently: I layer the cream cheese then the bleu cheese (I use one jar of bleu cheese - Marie's or Marzetti's) next the chicken/ hot sauce (mixed together) and just a sprinkling of mozzarella cheese on top. P.S. I grew up in(and still live in) Buffalo, NY - and we DO NOT eat our chicken wings with ranch dressing - BLEU CHEESE and celery or carrot sticks ONLY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
711 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I have made a variation of this recipe for over a year now and have never been disappointed. I suggest using more chicken and more hot sauce with this recipe. Also, if you use the chedder cheese, don't use the pre-shredded bags from the grocery store. The cheese in those bags is coated with flour and it seems to make the dip oiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I make a similar version of this often for tailgating and it's always a hit. I'm constantly giving out the recipe. I omit cheddar cheese, use only 1 package of cream cheese (for a meatier dip) and do not heat or bake (mix at room temp and and serve chilled). I also shred the chicken instead of cubing it and serve with celery sticks and chips for a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Very good! I used a packet of dry Ranch dressing mix, instead of the bottled stuff. Turned out great! I thought using more liquid would make it runny, and the dry power really held this dip together great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
*laughs* I'm not even waiting until everyone shows up to see their reactions to this to review it... Utterly, amazingly, unbelievably good!!! What a perfect idea for football parties! JustLearning86 - Great tip for Frank's Buffalo Wing sauce! I used a full 1.5 lb package of chicken breast, chopped finely. Just over a cup of Frank's Buffalo Wing sauce, Wishbone's Chunky Blue Cheese dressing, and Neufchatel Cream Cheese - didn't use any other cheese. I do believe this will be alternated with my Chili Cheese dip (My staple)... Wow! TRY THIS!!! (Kept it in the crock to keep it warm, and served with Scoops and Celery stix)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Very addictive. Always get asked for the recipe. I use Bleu Cheese (personal preference) and reduced fat cream cheese and fresh cooked chicken (makes a world of difference on the taste. I have used fresh and canned both) Have made it 2 different times. I have one suggestion though, after baking, transfer it to a crock pot to keep warm; I learned this lesson after I made the first time and it cooled off so quick. I had to keep reheating in microwave and it doesnt taste good cold! Great with celery, fritos scoops, chicken in a biscuit crackers or tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
The Best!! Never any leftovers. As a matter of fact, we've had some major fights over people shoveling it on their chips. I'm from Buffalo so we use one jar of Maries Blue Cheese salad dresing instead of the Ranch. Bake for reccomended time but add the cheese topping the last five minutes just to melt it a little or it gets tough and chewy - never use the packaged shredded stuff.Please only use Frank's Hot Sauce if you can get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was one of THE BEST recipes I've gotten from this site! I used no fat cream cheese; reduced fat Ranch dressing; and reduced fat cheddar cheese (to fit within my Weight Watchers program). I also chopped up celery and put that right in the mix with everything else. Also topped the entire dip with the remaining cheese. Unbelievably delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coventry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Yum! I made this for a tailgate and everyone loved it. Several people asked me for the recipe. I made no changes, but I did use a rotisserie chicken and my KitchenAid mixer and that made this dip super easy. I used all the white meat on the chicken and that was enough for the dip, right at two cups, chopped. I don't think it would hurt to put a little more cheese in the dip. Next time, I might use a little less Frank's. Even though my hubby loves wings, he likes them mild. I served the dip with Frito's and Tostitos Scoops. I personally like the Frito's best. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Entirely too twangy. I would cut back on the ranch. It was just too much when combined with the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five-Star Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to make a dip that tastes just like chicken wings only without the mess.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States