Chicken Wild Rice Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tryingcake
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very simple. I did not add rice. I just could not fathom potatoes and rice in the same dish. Since I had potatoes I wanted to use up, potatoes it was. I also did not not precook the chicken. It went in raw and actually still a hint frozen. I added the cream at the end and also the Wondra (in place of flour). Tasted fine. Not over the top, not bad. Just a nice easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryingcake

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This soup is easily 5 stars with the alterations I've made. I followed the recipe as above, but cut the amount of flour in half and left the skins on the potatoes. From then on, I: - put frozen chicken breasts in and diced them later. - added a can of green beans - added some garlic - added sliced carrots - added some frozen peas I had - added parsley, rosemary, savory, salt, and pepper - all to taste. After cooking for 6 hours it was ready to serve. It was delicious, 5 star material. Looking back, the only thing I might change would be to add the rice later on as it had all but turned to a mush. But on the other hand, it added to the overall thickness of the soup which I enjoyed. I think if you make the alterations as I have you'll find this soup to join your list of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Z.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Very bland -- I could tell from the recipe it would be bland, and even added spices to make it less so, but to no avail. I had the same problem as another reviewer with there not being enough liquid. The rice expanded so much that I had to transfer half the soup to another crock pot, which was a big mess. My step-daughter liked it, but it made so much (about a gallon), I don't think she's going to be able to eat it quickly enough and I expect I'll have to throw out half of it -- waste of good chicken breast, potatoes, and wild rice. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
it was a little dry to be called a soup...more like a chicken rice stew, but my H loves thick soups so it was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I would recommend adding the milk and flour at the end of the cooking time instead of the beginning. Mine floated to the top and then looked kind of gross when I tried to stir it back in. Also, next time I will use half as much wild rice. It soaked up all the liquid and I had to add more water. I will also try adding carrot and celery next time. I liked the subtle flavor and the way it made the whole house smell good. All in all, this was a keeper. I will be making it again, but with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I don't think the recipe needed flour; at the end of four hours, the flour had floated to the top. I cooked the soup in the crock pot for four hours, and when I came back to it (someone else was around to stir) there was no broth, but that may be because our crock pot cooks a little hot. I liked the milk and I think it would be better if there were carrots, celery, etc. and seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This recipe did look very basic and possibly tasteless so I used "zataran's" new orleans stlye long grain and wild rice(instant flavor). I omitted the boillon but added a large pinch of garlic powder. I didn't use potatoes because my husaband is allergic and there is enough starch but I threw in some mushrooms. It was very, very good but not absoluotely incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
Flavorless, unless you like the taste of wallpaper paste, flour and water. I added herbs and spices, but couldn't get that slow-cooked, flavor enhancing blend of flavors. I even topped it with grated cheese but it wasn't a keeper. The remainder went down the disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
i too added seasoning and cut down the flour. my soup turned out well, my husband and i both liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
I took this advise and cut down on the amnt of flour. My soup wasn't mushy. I too used some pepper and salt in the recipie. My husband and I liked it, so we will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States