Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This is a great tasting soup! I did it in a crockpot without any of the extra steps. Chicken and roux and rice were all raw. Just combined everything, set it on low and walked away. I added the cream/milk just before serving. It still turned out great and was super easy! Recipe survives well with substitutes or omissions: oil instead of butter, milk instead of cream, no mushrooms, etc. I used the food processor to chop all of the veggies fast and easy. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
442 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Since moving to Minnesota, I've tried several wild rice soup recipes - this is the best yet. Several steps can be completed the nite before - cooking/cubing the chicken, cooking the rice, etc. I've found that the key is to learn how to cook wild rice first - I always use 4 cups of water to one cup wild rice with a tsp of salt and boil it for approx. 40-50 minutes. Then I divide it into to large baggies of 2 cups each, which can be frozen for later use. I added 8 slices of cooked and crumbled bacon, substituted garlic salt for the salt, and ommitted the curry and mustard powders. I also used 3 cups of cooked wild rice instead of two. A GREAT recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is the second time I've made this soup, and had to jump on here and give it 5 stars!! This soup is naughty but oh so nice :-) One observation and one suggestion. Observation: Don't worry about the flour "clumping" when you add it to the veggies....the clumps cook out! Suggestion: Double the Curry. This ingredient sounded strange to me when I first looked at the recipe, but believe me it's the *KEY* to this soup. Well any type of chicken based soup, so I'm told. Who would have ever thought Curry makes chicken soup more "chickeny"!! Enjoy, it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I read through the reviews before I made this recipe, this way I'd know where to make changes and not risk wasting ingredients. I used a quarter of the butter called for in this recipe and added in just a little extra virgin olive oil to keep the butter from scorching. I did double the mushrooms and I added in quite a bit of fresh minced garlic. I did not need the flour or the salt. I used all organic chicken broth. To cut back on the fat, I used 1/3 cup fat free half-n-half and that was all I needed to make this a creamy soup plus it made it thicker without needing the flour. I did not add the mustard powder as I didn't have any. This is very good, though after tasting it, I did add in more curry powder. The almonds were just right in this soup, just wonderful. I would have never thought of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Oh my goodness! This is fantabulous tasting! I added a bit more curry than called for, and made a double batch. Freezes and reheats wonderfully, so make extra and take a night off in the kitchen. (Hint: use an ice cream bucket that fits in your crock pot to freeze left-overs, and you'll have an easy meal. Just remove frozen soup from ice cream bucket, place in crock pot on low, and come home to a delicious meal. Hubby said the house smelled fantastic when he got home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Great soup. I made changes. Less flour, 2% milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2, Beer instead of Sherry, Dijon mustard instead of mustard powder, used wild rice, brown rice and basmatti for a total of 3 cups cooked rice, combo of butter and olive oil to make roux, no almonds. Turned out FANTASTIC! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierJenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Excellent, excellent recipe, Sue! I made this on a rainy Friday afternoon after a long day at work, and it was remarkably easy and very tasty! My two roommates and I feasted on this with toasted wheatberry bread... They raved about it! I baked the boneless, skinless chicken breasts (brushed with extra-virgin olive oil, sprinkled with marjoram, thyme, oregano, a little salt & pepper, then baked at 450 for 30-35 min.) Turned out great! This is definitely a keeper! I even sent a copy of your fabulous recipe to my mother (a native Minnesotan from Hibbing). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Hubs and I weren't fond of this at all. Other than using rotisserie chicken and shortening the cooking time accordingly, I stuck to the recipe like science. So, against my better judgement, I watched the vegetables swim, not saute, in a stick of butter. And then I winced a little as I added the entire 3/4 cup of flour. I tasted it after seasoning it with the curry and mustard powder which I not only found odd, but unpleasant. After stirring in the almonds I discovered I didn't care for that either. Finally, to this thick concoction I added the prescribed pint of half-and-half. Rather than hearty, creamy and satisfying, I found this excessively thick and floury with a flavor that didn't seem quite appropriate for a chicken wild rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
This recipe was awsome!!! I used chicken breasts chunked and doubled the rice, celery carrots and chicken but add a bit more butter. It froze well and was very tastie I highly recommend this one. cook the rice about twice what it says
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Fantastic! Being a Minnesotan, I've tried many different versions of this thick, creamy soup and this one is definitely the best. I made it low fat by using nonfat half and half and only a tablespoon of olive oil in place of the butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States