Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great soup! I used only 1/4 cup butter, and used 2% milk instead of the half and half. I will be making this again. The soup was even better the next day warmed up. It would be good with leftover turkey instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Made this with 2 percent milk, made roux then transferred to crock pot as my saucepan was not large enough. Will try it all in one step in crock pot next time, as suggested. Made without chicken (only broth), without parsley or sherry. Added 1 extra chicken boulion cube because of not having sherry or cooking wine to add for flavor. Was still wonderful. Had to add small amount more flour to thicken a little more to my taste but this was easy enough to mix a little flour and cold water together then stir it in. Will try adding more curry or serve with a sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Soup was tasty. Used some other reviewers suggestions on cutting back on butter and cream and would probably reduce even further next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made this with leftover Thanksgiving turkey for a group of 5 and barely had any leftovers - everyone had seconds. Rave reviews! I'm from Minnesota and this is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Love this, but I do not include mushrooms or almonds to suite my family's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Loved this recipe from a fellow Minnesotan! I made it pretty much as written, except left out the dry mustard (didn't have any) and used red wine instead of sherry. 1 hour of simmering was plenty. A small salad and warm french bread made for a delicious, hearty meal. I'll be making this again on Christmas Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Tried it for the first time, this will definitely be a repeat dinner! I added poultry seasoning, a little cayenne pepper and used white wine instead of sherry. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made recipe as printed with only minor changes. Doubled celery & carrots to 1 cup each. Did not add almond slivers. Food processed the mushrooms. Used red wine instead of sherry. Kids ages 10, 9 & 6 loved it! "Better than Panera!" said my 10 year-old. This is very high praise in our house! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I love soup. I really loved this soup. My husband does not love close to not even liking soup. My husband loved this soup. It is flavorful with layers of texture. I did not have sherry so I used beer instead. I definitely will double and freeze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Wow. Use a large enough vessel and your veg isn't "swimming". I absolutely love what the curry brings to this dish. The Mr. raved about it too. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States