Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was delicious! What a nice homey little soup! I left out the mushrooms and forgot to add the almonds. Still VERY good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
It turned out way better than I expected! I didn't put as much half and half in it because it tasted just as good without the half and half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Made this for friends and family. They couldn't stop raving!! I doubled the recipe, but not the almonds. Would have been too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Fabulous soup! I tweaked it a bit, I used a 1/4 cup butter and a 1/4 cup flour. Then I only used 1/2 a cup of half and half and increased the chicken stock to 7 cups. It is by far the best chicken and rice soup I have ever had! It has so many different layers of flavor that when you serve it to guests their first reaction is "wow, what is in this".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Easy and tasty. A family hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Excellent flavor! I added garlic and used Chardonnay instead of sherry, still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buella Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsend, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
We love this chicken soup. The flavors are so yummy together. The only modification I did was I left out the almonds the second time I made it. Just not crazy about the added crunch. My husband said it was the best chicken soup he had ever had. Not hard to put together and doesn't have to simmer all day, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great soup! I used only 1/4 cup butter, and used 2% milk instead of the half and half. I will be making this again. The soup was even better the next day warmed up. It would be good with leftover turkey instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Made this with 2 percent milk, made roux then transferred to crock pot as my saucepan was not large enough. Will try it all in one step in crock pot next time, as suggested. Made without chicken (only broth), without parsley or sherry. Added 1 extra chicken boulion cube because of not having sherry or cooking wine to add for flavor. Was still wonderful. Had to add small amount more flour to thicken a little more to my taste but this was easy enough to mix a little flour and cold water together then stir it in. Will try adding more curry or serve with a sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Soup was tasty. Used some other reviewers suggestions on cutting back on butter and cream and would probably reduce even further next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States