Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Tried it for the first time, this will definitely be a repeat dinner! I added poultry seasoning, a little cayenne pepper and used white wine instead of sherry. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made recipe as printed with only minor changes. Doubled celery & carrots to 1 cup each. Did not add almond slivers. Food processed the mushrooms. Used red wine instead of sherry. Kids ages 10, 9 & 6 loved it! "Better than Panera!" said my 10 year-old. This is very high praise in our house! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I love soup. I really loved this soup. My husband does not love close to not even liking soup. My husband loved this soup. It is flavorful with layers of texture. I did not have sherry so I used beer instead. I definitely will double and freeze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Wow. Use a large enough vessel and your veg isn't "swimming". I absolutely love what the curry brings to this dish. The Mr. raved about it too. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight. It was a hit. Not too thin, not too thick. I used 6T corn starch instead of the flour to be gluten free, will try arrow root powder (6T) next time. My family doesn't care for curry, so I used thyme instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
The soup was delicious! My four kids and husband had seconds and give this two thumbs up! The only thing I changed was splitting up the butter with some grapeseed oil so that it wouldn't burn while I was sautéing the vegetables. I also followed another reviewer's advice by using only 3 Tbsp. of flour for the roux because we didn't want the soup to be too thick and shredded the chicken before adding it so that it could go a long way. The flavor was satisfying and comforting, especially since today was -20F! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Fantastic! I doubled the carrots and celery and added a little bit of chicken powder. I did not add the half-and-half. It was thick enough and the taste was outstanding. The almonds are a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is very good - a classic, traditional creamy soup. Easy to make; everything from scratch - couldn't be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Yum!!! We loved it! I doubled the carrots, rice, curry and dry mustard. I didn't have sherry so, I used 1 1/2 Tbsp of apple cider vinegar. I used evaporated milk instead of half and half and I didn't make a roux, I used cornstarch. I forgot all about the almonds but will truly it next time. Very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Very delicious soup! I omitted the slivered almonds and added a bit more curry powder, mustard, and black pepper than the recipe calls for; I also added a dash of cayenne. I added a little minced garlic to the pan when I sautéed the mushrooms, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States