Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Even with skipping the sherry this makes a GREAT soup. It's requested by friends and family all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanGogh0526

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Love the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
i think it is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Easily the BEST chicken wild rice soup recipe ever. We have a smoker, and I use smoked chicken in mine. I've made it for my family and they begged for the recipe--and they have since made it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is one of my favorite wild rice soup recipes. The curry and mustard give it a unique flavor. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Trocke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
We didn't have a chance to grab some sherry, but we made it without and it was absolutely wonderful! The only change I would make would be to add a bit more rice. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This was delicious! My husband is gluten and dairy free so I substituted corn starch for the flour (mixed it in with some of the broth and then added) and used plain rice milk in place of the half and half. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This soup is wonderful BUT only with a couple of corrections. REDUCE the flour to 1/4 cup or don't use any! It was way toooo thick!! I would definitely at least double the curry powder as that made the soup. Instead of using wild rice which takes so long to cook, I bought a box of Uncle Ben's Long Grain and Wild Rice. I will also use milk or reduced half & half next time to cut down on the calories and will use a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We liked this one a lot. I knew I would be freezing this, so I went about making it a little bit differently. I cut way back on the butter for sautéing. I then added the broth and simmered to soften the veggies. I added the rice, chicken and seasonings. I did not add the flour, almonds or milk. This yielded 6 servings for me that I divided into 2-serving portions and froze. After thawing two servings, I reheated the soup. I made a roux using 2 T. of flour and 2 T. of butter and 2/3 cup milk. Once the roux has thickened, I add it to the hot soup. I don’t think the additional simmering time of 1 to 2 hours is necessary at all. I garnished mine with the almonds that I toasted in the oven at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes, until golden and fragrant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States