Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Very tasty soup. Had to double or triple the curry, and also added garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipe was so good as is :) However my hubby thinks I knocked it out of the park and healthied it up a bit by sauteing the veggies in coconut oil (2T) and then adding coconut milk instead of the half and half! Yummy! Doubled the curry as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was a tasty soup, I did omit the sherry and almonds, did not have any but it was good.It did come out a little thin, I had to make a roux and add it at the end and I also picked up some beautiful swiss chard at the farmers market that morning and added it for a little more vegetables, thanks for sharing a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I was born and still live in MN, and this recipe is great. I recommend getting 100% naturally grown wild rice as it is soooo much better than the "mass produced" hard, black variety. A great site is www.christmaspoint.com. Runs about $7/pound. I made this recipe as listed except omitted the sherry and almonds just because I didn't have them. Super delicious, even my 2-year-old couldn't get enough. I've made tons of different wild rice soup recipes over the years, and in my experience you can't skimp on the butter and 1/2 and 1/2 or you may be disappointed. Go for the full fat! I add a lot of extra vegetables, rice, and chicken to make it extra thick and hearty. You may need to add extra salt, to taste. I used Tastefully Simple's "Flavors of India" curry seasoning salt in leu of the salt and curry, and that was awesome. I don't know if they sell it anymore, but it's fantastic in wild rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Excellent soup for a rainy night! I made a few changes though and it turned out wonderfully. I didn't have sherry so I used dry vermouth as a substitute. I also did not add the almonds or the half and half as I didn't have any on hand. Last, I halved the rice since I wanted it to be a little less thick. I also added some dried sage leaves and a few dashes of hungarian paprika. Definitely try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I added 1 tsp of sage. Because I am allergic to dairy, I used olive oil to stir fry the veggies and left out the cream. I left out the flour as a thickening agent, because I am gluten intolerant. It probably results in a little different flavor, but is still chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
loved this soup. Just a perfect early fall evening meal. I did omit the almonds and skipped the half and half. Accidentally forgot about the cream until half way through eating it. That was just fine though because it had a lot of flavor and creaminess without it. Loved the curry addition and the sherry. I will make this again. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This if the first chicken wild rice soup that I have ever made. It was delicious! Entire family (including 7yo and 13mo) loved it!! I omitted almonds, sherry and half-and-half, just because I didn't have them. We thought it was perfect just like that. Very flavorful with curry powder. I would have never thought to use it in a soup like this. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! I will make this many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
The best soup I have made in a long time. I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
OMG, this is a wonderful recipe! I made a healthy version by substituting two 12 oz cans of fat free evaporated milk whisked with 1/4 cup flour instead of the butter, half and half and larger amount of flour. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe exactly. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States