Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I was born and still live in MN, and this recipe is great. I recommend getting 100% naturally grown wild rice as it is soooo much better than the "mass produced" hard, black variety. A great site is www.christmaspoint.com. Runs about $7/pound. I made this recipe as listed except omitted the sherry and almonds just because I didn't have them. Super delicious, even my 2-year-old couldn't get enough. I've made tons of different wild rice soup recipes over the years, and in my experience you can't skimp on the butter and 1/2 and 1/2 or you may be disappointed. Go for the full fat! I add a lot of extra vegetables, rice, and chicken to make it extra thick and hearty. You may need to add extra salt, to taste. I used Tastefully Simple's "Flavors of India" curry seasoning salt in leu of the salt and curry, and that was awesome. I don't know if they sell it anymore, but it's fantastic in wild rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Excellent soup for a rainy night! I made a few changes though and it turned out wonderfully. I didn't have sherry so I used dry vermouth as a substitute. I also did not add the almonds or the half and half as I didn't have any on hand. Last, I halved the rice since I wanted it to be a little less thick. I also added some dried sage leaves and a few dashes of hungarian paprika. Definitely try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I added 1 tsp of sage. Because I am allergic to dairy, I used olive oil to stir fry the veggies and left out the cream. I left out the flour as a thickening agent, because I am gluten intolerant. It probably results in a little different flavor, but is still chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
loved this soup. Just a perfect early fall evening meal. I did omit the almonds and skipped the half and half. Accidentally forgot about the cream until half way through eating it. That was just fine though because it had a lot of flavor and creaminess without it. Loved the curry addition and the sherry. I will make this again. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This if the first chicken wild rice soup that I have ever made. It was delicious! Entire family (including 7yo and 13mo) loved it!! I omitted almonds, sherry and half-and-half, just because I didn't have them. We thought it was perfect just like that. Very flavorful with curry powder. I would have never thought to use it in a soup like this. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! I will make this many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
The best soup I have made in a long time. I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
OMG, this is a wonderful recipe! I made a healthy version by substituting two 12 oz cans of fat free evaporated milk whisked with 1/4 cup flour instead of the butter, half and half and larger amount of flour. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe exactly. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
After reading the reviews, I followed the recipe with the exception of adding raw chicken and wild rice. A very hearty soup, and the flavor is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I never knew chicken soup could taste so good! I added some very finely chopped red pepper with the celery, carrot and onion. I used a little bit more butter ;) and a little less half&half. I didn't have any sherry so I substituted with a dash of vodka (its all I had), a dash of apple cider vinegar and a tablespoon or so of brown sugar. What a fabulous soup. Thanks very much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe. Didn't have the mushrooms, almonds or sherry but it was great just the same. Wonderful flavor. Just enough curry. Made this for dinner- very filling. Husband loved it. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States