Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Love this soup! I read other reviews before making soup. I left out mustard powder, sherry, half&half,almonds and used only 1/3c flour and 2tbsp of butter + a little olive oil. It was some of the best soup I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Fantastic!! I would not change a thing. For those of you who are skeptical of the curry and mustard powder, as I also was, I assure you that this is one of those instances where you will not notice a pronounced flavor from either of them, but they will certainly be missed if you choose to omit them. I would be willing to bet that only the chef (you) will even know that these spices are present. This recipe is as good, or better than any one of those served at the numerous MN restaurants I've worked at over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Yummyness! Very hardy and creamy. I would add a little more broth because it is quite thick. Almost like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wascott, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Theresa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was excellent! I made some changes to the recipe and cooked it in the crockpot. First I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour for the roux. I also at least doubled the veggies (except for the mushrooms) and then used black rice instead of wild rice (just rinsed it well before adding it to the soup), I used some homemade chicken stock, 1 cup skim milk, and 1 cup heavy whipping cream, and I skipped the sherry because I didn't have any. I sauteed the vegetables and made the roux on the stove and then got it all into the crockpot. This soup was fabulous, it made about 13 cups of soup total so about 1.5 cups of soup per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
My family really enjoyed this soup. I made the following changes, I used fresh parsley, used turkey instead of chicken, used turkey stock instead of the chicken broth, and replaced the sherry with dry white wine. The spices and seasonings needed to be adjusted for my taste, no way I could taste 1/2 tsp of curry powder in this much soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I did this in the crock pot. I put everything, except the cream, in the pot the night before. In the morning I turned it on high for 6 hours and it was ready for lunch. I added the cream just before serving. I also cut the flour in half and used a gluten free flour blend from Pamelas. The consistency was just right I thought. The only reason I gave it three stars is because we did not care for the curry or the seasonings in it. I also thought it was a little bland. It was ok but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Really good base recipe to which you can add your preferred type/quantity of seasonings to suit your taste. So yummy, great texture! I ended up doubling the recipe and still found it a little bland, although I didn't have the sherry and used red wine vinegar instead. I guess I like things a bit saltier. But this is really, really good and my kids liked it, too. TIP: If you aren't doing anything extra fancy with the chicken (or using rotisserie or leftovers), I found that it worked perfectly to boil frozen chicken breast with the wild rice for 45-60min in 8 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fast_as_I_can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Very tasty soup. Had to double or triple the curry, and also added garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipe was so good as is :) However my hubby thinks I knocked it out of the park and healthied it up a bit by sauteing the veggies in coconut oil (2T) and then adding coconut milk instead of the half and half! Yummy! Doubled the curry as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States