Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
We loved this soup. Worried a bit about the curry powder because I didn't want an Indian sort of soup. But it's just a touch to add a unique flavor that enhances the chicken flavors and not overwhelming at all. Pay attention to the part about not boiling or the roux will break, it did! But it still tasted great. I am trying it again but will be more careful to not let it boil at the end! I made it from scratch using some frozen chicken pieces that I wanted to use up and followed the recipe with no changes except for cutting back on the butter to 1/2 stick and with the cream at the end. Just use as needed to get the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
It is an excellent recipe. I added an italian chicken sausage, like somebody suggested in reviews, and for a better flavor - 1/2 teaspoon cumin and just a tiny pinch of cinnamon. Right at the end of cooking I added chopped kale get it to boiling and turned it off - for making it even more nutricional. This is one of the best recipes I tried for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is my favorite soup and this recipe does it justice. I had boiled some gizzards earlier so I used that stock with the broth and thickened it toward the end. It is a great recipe. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I made this for dinner tonight with a salad. Was delicious. Only omission was mushrooms because I didn't have any but I think they would have been excellent in this soup. Saved this recipe so I could make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Oh my gosh, this soup is awesome. I didn't use as much half and half because the soup was pretty thick as it was. I did double the curry as suggested, but other than that didn't change anything else. Threw away all other recipes for Chicken Wild Rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rposton
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
this soup is excellent! my husband loves it and calls it "restaurant quality". the great thing is it uses ingredients we usually have around the kitchen most weeks! the process of cooking is long, but its totally worth it! you also have leftovers for days (if you have a family of 4).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I used baby Bella mushrooms instead of regular mushrooms and omitted the almonds. I found it good, however felt more like cream of mushroom than cream of chicken. I had to add some chicken bullion flavoring to get one chicken flavor back. I think part of the reason is that 2 cups of 1/2 and 1/2 is too much. I do plan to try it again, but this time will use 1/2 the mushrooms and cut back on 1/2 and 1/2. One cup may even be too much. Also, may make some additions to the seasoning at that time if still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I love chicken wild rice soup and have been trying to find the perfect recipe. Unfortunately, this wasn't it...BUT it was still pretty good. The slivered almonds were genius and the whole family loved that. Overall though, I felt it was bland. The curry didn't do as much for it as I hoped it would and other than that, there isn't much in the recipe to really flavor it. I made the recipe as written up to adding the chicken broth, then I put everything but the half & half into the crockpot. I did cut the butter in half. I also doubled the carrots because we like more veggies in our soup. When I went to add the half & half at the end, the soup already seemed really thick so I just added a cup of skim milk instead. I was glad I did. It would have been WAY too thick otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This has become a staple in our home. Especially during the sub-zero Michigan winters. I followed the recipe exactly for the first round...AWESOME flavor but didn't care for the almonds. Second round...omitted almonds, doubled the curry & added celery...DELICIOUS. We love it so much that I now I reduce the liquids by half, add potatoes, peas & carrots and use it as our chicken pot pie filler!!! YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States