Chicken Voila Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I've come to a point where this dish has become a regular meal in my house. Over time, the outcome of the recipe has turned out better and better. I like to brown the chicken pieces quite a bit before adding the broth mixture. Also, I add some onion powder for more flavor. I like to make this with rice or potatoes. I give this recipe 5 stars! It's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Easy to make. For healthier eating use the EVOO, although one table. of vegetable oil and one of butter isn't going to kill a person. The recipe says to add the roux to the hot mixture. That will cause lumps. Heat the broth first, then add the flour. When it thickens add to the hot mixture. Fixing gravy this way will always prevent lumps. Flour has to be cooked a bit before adding to a hot mixture. Cornstarch doesn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Excellent recipie I will definitly add this to my box. I doubled the gravy and added onions,green beans,and carrots to the mix. Cooking it like a stew with very thick gravy. Came out so good. Thanks to this web site I am becoming a better cook. Or at least that is what my family is telling me, ha ha ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
i made this last minute with chicken i had thawed the night before. it didn't look special but i needed something quick. oh my god!! this recipe was out of this world! it took no time at all and was delicious. i added a splash of white wine, just because i like the depth of flavor it gives. i made the recipe with stuffing and could have eaten the whole lb. of chicken it was so good. if the sauce gets too thick add more broth. one of the best things i've made off this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was quite good made as is! I added a little Italian seasoning to the chicken with the salt, pepper and flour, and although I made it scaled it to one, i minced a whole clove of garlic. (okay, not exactly made as the recipe said). If you added lemon juice, it would be close to chicken piccata! It was easy, and had that rich taste that I think chicken broth brings. Next time i will flour the chicken more, so it browns more, and serve it over rice. And yes, i used more flour than the recipe called for. All in all, i really liked it, and i will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianppg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
this was sooooooo good.instead of using flour for the gravy,i just threw in 2 packets of gravy mix with 2 cups of the broth.made with mashed potatoes and peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is a GREAT recipe! I just whipped it up (it's that easy) to raves from the family! On it's own it is delicious, and the addition of lime juice and some capers made it another kind of special! This recipe could be tweaked with other spices and sides for a plethora of goodness... I'm going to make it with turkey leftovers next week. Thanks! "Try it, you'll like it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Roux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
woke up feeling achy and depleted. I am a northern girl not a big gravy fan. Somehow this intrigued me. Boy is it good!!! Perked me right up. Made it as directed. Spooned it over hot biscuits (from the can) and added some steamed frozen peas. I will make it again and again I am sure. Creamy, tasty, satisfying and comforting. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
very good, easy to fix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Really tasty!!! I used a little bit more flour than the recipe called for to get a thicker gravy. I also used garlic powder in the flour mixture to add a little more flavor. My husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States