Chicken Vindaloo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was the best chicken I have ever had. Great recipe and easy to make. Served it over some basmati rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe - very easy to make and full of taste. Received rave reviews from my husband and kids. I left out the potatoes and served with whole wheat naan. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Excellent! My husband made this following the directions exactly and it had a very authentic, spicy taste. Loved it and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, New York, USA
Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I haven't had Vindaloo before, so I don't have that frame of reference but I thought this was great. I had to make 2 changes - I used breast of chicken and I did not have Cardamom. Otherwise made as written. I think the issue with others' potatoes not softening is due to 2 things. 1- you have to cut them into small cubes and 2- the cook time says bring to a boil then simmer- well it took a while to bring to a boil and then simmered for 15 minutes sounds a bit short to me. I simmered for 10 more minutes. I served for dinner over rice and just by itself in a bowl for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
It's a very good dish but I don't think I want to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I made this and was pretty skeptical looking at all the different spices. While it was cooking I started to worry even more because it didn't smell anything like the vindaloo I know. In the end it tastes good but still not like the vindaloo I was hoping for. I found the Cardamon spice to be a bit overwhelming and would leave it out if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was good, but I agree with the other reviewers. The spice combination was just a little off. I think I'd add less cloves, a touch more cinnamon, and some mustard powder next time. We DID finish the leftovers though so it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
The potatoes were bland and hard to cook. Took me more than 30 minutes for it to cook. Mine turned out to be little sour but good flavor. I added bit of brown sugar and the sourness went away. I think its just an ok dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe had all the earmarks of having great flavor and I didn't follow the recipe verbatim, but I will say this. Overpowerfully bitter strong taste! Might be because I used whole cloves instead of ground? Also, when toasting the spices, I almost warn against this. If you do burn them, I think that could add bitterness. Also...when adding the onions the spices dry up all the oil, so it makes it very difficult to get a good sweat on them. toast spices spearately and saute the chicken in the onions and garlic first before adding the spices. Technical flaws galore in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
It was a nice spice filled Indian inspired dish, but not what I consider to be chicken vindaloo. If you like your Indian food on the mild side, then this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States