Chicken Vicious Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Again, thanks for all the great suggestions on this! I do have one bone of curious contention... why is it that nearly all the folks who rate this at a "one star" rating pretty much complain that it is 'too spicy' or 'too tangy' or 'too sweet'.. after reading the clear and detailed dish description, then rate it down complaining that it is just as I said it is?? I specifically outlined the tastes so that those who would not be interested in the taste would not bother to make it. Don't rate me down to ground because it doesn't suit your personal tastes. Just don't make the dish to begin with. This is a first-rate recipe!! And thanks again to all you who continue to lend input and suggestions! Only makes the recipe better suited to a wider group of folks!! Bon Appetit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This was very tasty and would have gotten 5 stars except that 1) hubby complained it didn't taste "authentic" and I have to agree, 2) it gave me a rather nasty sugar buzz, and 3) the technique needs to be changed for stir-frying the chicken and the ginger and garlic need to be fresh. For those who will be making it again, you get a MUCH more tender chicken if you mix the chopped chicken with a bit of soy sauce, sherry, cornstarch and oil before frying it in the pan. If you just put the chicken in "naked" like the recipe says, the chicken is tougher. Too tough for my taste. Another tip for those who think it's too strong in the vinegar taste or want more sauce but not more vinegar. It's okay to add half a cup or more of water to this recipe. Just adjust everything to taste. You don't have to keep adding only soy sauce, vinegar and sugar to make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This recipe is fantastic. I modified it. We are on a diet so I used 3/4 cup Splenda instead of sugar and just used Pam instead of oil. I did not add peas mushrooms and did not thicken. We put the chicken on top of green salad and used the sauce as a hot spicy vinagrette dressing. It was awesome. As another reviewer stated,it does taste a lot like General Tso's without breading. Will use time and time again. Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Unless you like drinking white vinegar straight up, this is not for you. I added so much sugar to cover up the pungent vinegar taste but even when the vinegar taste is covered up by sweetness, your nose takes an assault every time you inhale. Thank goodness I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
loved it!! easy to prepare... soo very yummy!!! But, of course I changed it to fit my tastes. Tastes ten times better if you use fresh ingredients instead of powdered or dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I read through the reviews before making this dish. As a result, I made numerous modifications to this recipe and it came out absolutely delicious. I made the following changes: (1) I used one fresh yellow onion, about six cloves of garlic, and about 2 tablespoons of fresh chopped up ginger. I'm a big believer in using fresh ingredients where possible and here I think it really adds to the flavor. Before adding the chicken I sauteed the onion, garlic, and ginger in the oil for about two minutes. (2) In terms of the sauce, I used 1/2 cup white vinegar, 1/4 cup reduced sodium soy sauce, and 1/2 cup brown sugar. (3) In addition to the 8 ounces of mushrooms and one cup of peas, I added one chopped green bell pepper and one chopped red bell pepper. I did not include the cornstarch. It gives a great Asian flavor and is much tastier than what you would get in most Chinese restaurants. Plus there is the added advantage that it tastes so much healthier because I was able to use all organic and fresh ingredients. I will definitely make this again, maybe rotating different vegetables (I think this recipe would also work with broccoli, green beans, sugar snap peas, bamboo shoots, water chestnuts, bok choy, baby corn, a lot of things). I also think it is really important to accompany this dish with rice. My rice really absorbed the sauce well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I used rice vinegar just because I had it; doubt it would make any noticeable difference. I used fresh garlic, fresh ginger and chopped up some fresh onion as well as the powdered garlic, onion, ginger, and green onions. I used Sugar Twin rather than sugar (1/8 c and it was sweet enough). Also added fresh broccoli and snow peapods. Next time I would reduce the amount of vinegar a bit (1 c from 1.5 c) and also the soy sauce (1/4 c from 1/2 c) as it was too salty (or try low sodium soy sauce). It was a pretty good stir-fry, but just too salty for my tastes. My friend also made it and used low-sodium soy sauce and said it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was great!!! i didn't follow the amount of spices exactly, but I have apretty good feel for what we like, and it came out great. I agree with the submitter -- if you read the description and it doesn't sound like your taste, don' review it with a bad rate. I will def do this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I have made this twice, once with chicken and once with beef, it was great both times. I substitute some brown sugar for the white sugar (have to increase the amount of brown sugar, though) and I pour in quite a lot of hot pepper. I like to make the sauce in a separate pot so I can get it to the consistency and taste that I want prior to putting it in with the meat and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I wasn't sure about this recipe at first because of the amount of vinegar it calls for. My husband commented on the smell of vinegar as it was cooking. But, once it is finished the flavor is wonderful! It reminds me of General Tso's chicken without the breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States