Chicken Vicious Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was sensational!! My fiance and I loved it. I didn't change anything in the recipe and it turned out wonderful. I placed the chicken over some rice and taadahh!!! This one is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
[quote]"This is some very powerful stuff and not for the faint of tongue" you can even make it more powerful by adding some extremely hot sauce!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
The Mr loved this and I wasn't so keen so I've given it 4 stars as an average of my 3 and his 5. Miss 8 also liked it so I was very pleased and it was very quick to make - more like 15-20 mins start to finish. I made a few changes to the recipe; I didn't want to use a whole cup of sugar so I halved the vinegar and sugar and I also used fresh garlic, ginger and chilli instead of the dried versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I love garlic and spicy but the vinegar was too over-powering in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I forgot to rate this recipe when I made it. I added some red bell pepper and bamboo shoots to this. While we are lovers of strong flavors, and I did read the reviews, I was still unprepared for how strong the vinegar is in this recipe. It was mellower the next day, but I would definately reduce the amount if I make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
The flavor was fine, actually kind of interesting. It was way too sugary though. I wish I would have noticed some of the reviews and cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was good. Very easy, but the only things was that it was way too much sauce. I didn't add the peas and mushrooms but instead used celery, carrots and red bell pepper. (Oh, and I made this using chicken thighs) I think next time I'll play around with this and make less sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I have been meaning to make this recipe for a long time, and I am so glad I finally did! Don't let the "Vicious" scare you, this recipe is fabulous! I did modify it just slightly for personal tastes, as we all should, but only minimally: 1/2 Tbsp red pepper flakes, and only 1 cup white vinegar. The vinegar/soy sauce combo is outstanding! The sugar does a great job of sweetening the sauce as well. My husband doesn't like peas and so, to add some crunch with the chicken and mushrooms, I added sliced celery instead. Superb! I think next time I will use more chicken, we both were left wanting more after the meat was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Commerce City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This did not turn out as we anticipated. It never thickened, not sure if that is how it is or something we did wrong. It had a nice flavor, but even with adding more vegetables it was really soupy. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
We make this about once a month. I don't use quite as much sugar, half the amount is fine. I also add more vegetables as this is a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States