Chicken Vicious Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Great recipe. My family has light taste buds, so we only used a teaspoon of the red pepper flakes. We didn't even have to use the corn starch to thicken it! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA
Living In: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Me and my girlfriend made this last night. We both loved it, but she found it more spicy than i did. I'll definitely try this again but play around with the ingredients to attempt to make it more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Wow, you weren't kidding. But I did like it. I mean, it's hot but good. I dislike mushrooms so dumped those, and used low-sodium soy sauce, but I didn't assume I needed to start changing everything. I ended up adding about 2 tablespoons more sugar, thinking perhaps I'd need even more. But once you get everything added, thickened, and put on rice, it does calm that heat just a little, so I think at the "taste test" point you can leave it just a hair on the "too much" side. (My opinion - don't hold me to it.) I did not find it in any way sweet even with a bit of extra sugar. It goes very well with the rice - and with rice, this might be double the servings. This was also a nice way to sneak in peas, as I don't like them cooked but don't notice them in something like this. The downfalls are all that sugar - for an otherwise healthy dish. And it also does not re-heat very well. Tolerable and I don't let leftovers go to waste, but certainly not the same. Oh, and this was not done in 45 minutes at all. For one, having to cut up raw chicken is not quick, and it took a while to thicken - noticed others having trouble getting it to thicken. Now while I understand, if you don't like hot, don't make this,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
The whole family loves this dish! another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiDunaway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I read through the reviews before making this dish. As a result, I made numerous modifications to this recipe and it came out absolutely delicious. I made the following changes: (1) I used one fresh yellow onion, about six cloves of garlic, and about 2 tablespoons of fresh chopped up ginger. I'm a big believer in using fresh ingredients where possible and here I think it really adds to the flavor. Before adding the chicken I sauteed the onion, garlic, and ginger in the oil for about two minutes. (2) In terms of the sauce, I used 1/2 cup white vinegar, 1/4 cup reduced sodium soy sauce, and 1/2 cup brown sugar. (3) In addition to the 8 ounces of mushrooms and one cup of peas, I added one chopped green bell pepper and one chopped red bell pepper. I did not include the cornstarch. It gives a great Asian flavor and is much tastier than what you would get in most Chinese restaurants. Plus there is the added advantage that it tastes so much healthier because I was able to use all organic and fresh ingredients. I will definitely make this again, maybe rotating different vegetables (I think this recipe would also work with broccoli, green beans, sugar snap peas, bamboo shoots, water chestnuts, bok choy, baby corn, a lot of things). I also think it is really important to accompany this dish with rice. My rice really absorbed the sauce well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I stored this recipe in my inbox a few years ago and occasionally flirted with the idea of trying it, but, until last night, it had remained an unconsumated relationship. More fool me for waiting so long! We really enjoyed this dish - it's earned itself a regular spot in the "Rotation". The only change I made was to reduce the amount of vinegar to 3/4 cup, following the advice of an earlier submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was great!!! i didn't follow the amount of spices exactly, but I have apretty good feel for what we like, and it came out great. I agree with the submitter -- if you read the description and it doesn't sound like your taste, don' review it with a bad rate. I will def do this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I wasn't sure how I would like the combo of flavors but I was quite surprised and pleased. I used 1 c vinegar and 1 c. sugar, all of the soy (low sod) and all fresh ingrediants. Next time I think I would reduce the vinegar to 3/4 c. Also, my sauce never thickened, even with the cornstarch added towards the end..?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
The first time I made this it seemed a bit too tart so the second time I made it I decreased the vinegar. By decreasing the vinegar though, it made it much more spicy so the next time I will decrease vinegar and red pepper flakes and then I think it will be perfect for our liking! Originally I had this at 3 stars but with my altering Ive upped it to 4 stars! Just needs to be switched up a bit for my tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I love this recipe! The description says it all, this recipe does not disappoint! There is definitely lots of "kick"! Next time I am going to try it with real garlic though, as I'm sure it'll add even more bite. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States