Chicken Vicious Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
This was AWESOME. We didn't use any veggies (we were out) but I'll definitely be throwing in lots next time. We used about half the suggested chicken and had enough sauce for the rice. The only change I might make is to use just a teensy bit less sugar, it was just a smidgen too sweet. But the spice kick was amazing! This is definitely going in the favorites box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
OMG....I loved this. I made it exactly - except substituted 1/2 of the sugar with Splenda (son is a diabetic). It had a sweet/tangy/hot flavor that was incredible. Made my nose run throughout dinner - but hey, that's a sign of a good dish! Even our 13-year-old son liked it. He was picking at the leftovers later in the evening. I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Very rarely I come across a recipe that does not deliver, and this "Chicken Vicious" is that one! I made it to the "T" and it was horrible! Even my husband agreed, after 3 bites, we had to stop eating it and he cooked an omelette instead*LOL* Too sweet? too tangy? the flavors are all wrong, I even used fresh garlic and vegetables, what a huge disappointment. I was so looking forward to this,especially after all the rave reviews. I am a very competent chef and my husband insists it was the recipe! sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This was very good. I used left over chicken, scaled down the recipe and used broccoli and red/green bell peppers. I don't usually love hot foods, but I liked the red pepper kick to this. Thanks. (edit- I have found myself craving the sauce for this and will sometimes make just the sauce to put over the rice--it is so good, it's become an addiction.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssschwingg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I scaled the recipe down, but didn't scale back on the red pepper. That gave it some heat! Mmm, mmm, mmm! Just a tad too sweet though, I'd start with a little less, you can always add more. I too used fresh garlic and ginger, makes a big difference, use it if you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
This was so good I ate till I was completely stuffed! My boyfriend couldn't stop raving about it. I did take the tips from others and used all fresh ingredients (fresh garlic, fresh ginger, used fresh broccoli instead of peas, fresh mushrooms.) I do believe the fresh ingredients make a big difference. I did use a touch less vinegar (maybe 1/4 cup less), but I used exactly 1 tablespoon of the red pepper flakes because I love spicy foods. For even more flavor, I mixed all of the sauce ingredients and marinated the chicken for about 15 minutes before I browned it. Thank you tocoyote for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This was very tasty and would have gotten 5 stars except that 1) hubby complained it didn't taste "authentic" and I have to agree, 2) it gave me a rather nasty sugar buzz, and 3) the technique needs to be changed for stir-frying the chicken and the ginger and garlic need to be fresh. For those who will be making it again, you get a MUCH more tender chicken if you mix the chopped chicken with a bit of soy sauce, sherry, cornstarch and oil before frying it in the pan. If you just put the chicken in "naked" like the recipe says, the chicken is tougher. Too tough for my taste. Another tip for those who think it's too strong in the vinegar taste or want more sauce but not more vinegar. It's okay to add half a cup or more of water to this recipe. Just adjust everything to taste. You don't have to keep adding only soy sauce, vinegar and sugar to make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I made a few changes to this and that might be why I didn't fall in love with it(to be fair). I substituted Splenda for the sugar, used broccoli instead of peas and added water chesnuts and a little shredded cabbage. I thought the sauce was a bit too tangy and a bit too sweet, so next time I make this I think I'll reduce the amounts of these items a bit and supplement the liquid with maybe some chicken stock, if needed. I did like the bite of the red pepper and when I added more it did seem to help the sauce quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
This recipe is awesome! My husband won't eat mushrooms so I left them out but added those little corns and some bamboo shoots. I went a little easy on the vingegar and it was perfect. We will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETA COMPTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Didn't change a thing - everyone loved it and it was a quick meal to make with ingredients you normally have on hand. We thought the taste was perfect! My partner picked up fried rice and egg rolls on his way home and it was a nice, satisfying meal. I will make this again and again. Can change it by adding baby corn, water chestnuts, bean sprouts or whatever you have on hand. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States