Chicken Vicious Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I should have gone with my gut when I saw 1/2 cup soy sauce. I knew that would be too much. The flavor of the soy sauce overpowered almost everything else. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Fuore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this as written, except using brown sugar (loosely packed). I ended up with an unappealing black stew of indistinguishable ingredients and tough meat. It was tasty, but way too saucy to eat without rice. Were I to make this again, I'd cut the sauce ingredients in half, and marinate the chicken in about 1/4 cup of it before cooking. Then remove the cooked chicken, and cook the mushrooms till they shrank a bit. Maybe add some broccoli or sugar peas to up the veg quotient. Add the frozen peas to warm them, add back the chicken. Stir half the remaining sauce into the cornstarch slurry, and add that to the pan to coat the food. Add remaining sauce for desired consistency, sprinkle with the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
It was so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This recipe is fantastic!!! I did use fresh garlic and ginger, because I love these ingredients and I like to add some extra veggies...for instance, stir fry veggies and baby corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I made this for dinner with only 1 substitution. I used chopped broccoli in place of the peas. it was very good and it does kinda clear your sinuses. it's not to sweet and not to hot.next time I might cut down on the liquid a wee bit.1 cup vinegar should be enough.I will be sure to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rexter3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Chicken Vicious Haiku: "Eek, my mouth's on fire! Yet I can't stop eating this. Vicious delicious!" Took suggestion of reviewer #2 and marinated the cut-up chicken in soy sauce, sherry, and EVOO (along w/ fresh garlic and ginger) and took the advice of reviewer #3 and served over a salad. (This provided a nice cooling effect to the kick that this dish brings.) The vinegar burned my eyes and nose when I added it to the skillet, but I stuck to my guns (and the recipe as written), and used the called for measurements of sugar, vinegar and soy sauce. Husband said exactly what some reviewers mentioned, "tastes like General Tso's w/o the unnecessary breading", and I just liked that despite its fire, it still had a good taste. (My suggestions: marinate the chicken and use fresh garlic and ginger.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Wonderful. Decided to try it for Halloween dinner and I'm so glad I did. We both loved it. The only regret I have is that I listened to some of the reviews and decreased the vinegar to 1 cup. Next time, I'm going for the full amount. It was delish with the lesser amount but I think I lost some of the "wowza". Also, as part of a Halloween menu, I made the Pumpkin Casserole from this site. I didn't think the two would actually go together and considered serving them as two separate courses. I was wrong. The two went so well together I was stunned. Thank you for a great recipe. It'll be a go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was fantastic. Very similiar to General Tso's. My brave tasted three year old daughter even loved it. I omitted the mushrooms just as personal preference. This is going into regular dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith Allesi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Holy Freaking Goodness! This is one yummy dish! Made this exactly as described (except added carrots and used fresh ginger because I had them) and I would not change a thing--don't taste it too soon or the sugar/vinegar will knock your socks off.I was quite liberal with the red pepper flakes and the spice nicely offset the sweetness. This is going on my regular rotation---and makes me not miss take out Chinese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This worked out well with frozen stir fry veggies & cut in half for 2 chicken breasts. Added the frozen veggies in the last 5min. Maybe would have cut the cook time on the chicken in the beginning because it came out a little tough. Great sauce, expected it to be really spicy but the sweet was a nice offset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States