Chicken Vesuvio Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was a good recipe, though it didn't have the prettiest presentation. It was very light and flavorful, though heavy on the lemon. After reading other reviews, I was liberal with the salt and pepper and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
My husband had this dish waiting for me after work, which makes it a very easy and wonderful dish to begin with! We didn't have olives, so he added a chopped, fresh tomato instead. We also added capers before serving. Very tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Made this today because we love all the flavors involved. Cut recipe in half for 2 of us but had to make a lot of modification. I knew that 1 hr. would far too long for boneless chicken breasts. Cut potatoes in 1/8ths, browned the chicken lightly on each side, and baked for approx. 20 mins. before adding sauteed mushrooms. Bake another 20 mins. and even then the chicken was a little dry. The flavors are wonderful and I added more garlic (we also love rosemary). I normally do not rate a recipe that I have had to alter so much, but perhaps it will help others who have run into some of the same problems. Will make it again, but with more modifications. Certainly will not change seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
We are big fans of rosemary and olives so I just had to try this recipe. I am very glad I did - we thought this was excellent. I used black, sun dried olives that were very salty,really added a kick to the flavor. I can't wait to try it again with kalamata olives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I personally did not care for this. while the sauce was indeed quite tasty the chicken and potatoes were bland -- I marinated it for ~2 hours. Edible, but laking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Warning: You must appreciate rosemary for this dish to be enjoyable. However, I made this light and refreshingly moist dish for a very picky family with a toddler and preschooler. Both went back for seconds and my husband ate the rest! We skipped black olives due to my hubby's aversion, but this is a nice, light chicken dish different from the heavy gravy dishes I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jay
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe was amazing! I added a lot of extra garlic, and I had to bake for about an extra 10 to 20 minutes for the chicken and potatos to be just right. It was DELICIOUS! After 30 minutes, I drizzled a bit more olive oil on the potatos. One of the best, if not THE best recipe out of the 6+ i've made on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
My family liked this recipe. I used regular yellow onions and didn't use rosemary. I added more garlic and doubled the amount of gravy next time. I needed to add 1/4 cup of chicken broth toward the end of baking because the gravy was baking away. Next time I will try making it with 1 tsp of dried rosemary. I baked it at 375 degrees for 45 - 60 minutes, basting every 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Ok let me start by saying I am [not] trying to be rude, but I was looking for a chicken vesuvio recipe and I found this one. I live in Chicago and I never had chicken vesuvio with mushrooms and black olives and green onion usually it is either bone in or chicken breast. I have never had it at Harry Caray’s though. Chicken is usually in white wine and herb sauce with potatoes. I am just not sure of the exact herbs. Chicken Cacciatore has mushrooms and black olives in it. Sorry I hope you take no offense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleens6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Very good, nice flavours - I made this when we had company for dinner - it was also fun to say "Chicken Vesuvio!," over and over. A tip - I always microwave potatoes for 1-2 mins before baking - to ensure they are always nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States