Chicken Vesuvio Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Definitely edible, but definitely something I wouldn't add to the rotation. Was looking for a 'cupboard' recipe, and it worked. fiance ate it. but he likes his potatoes mushy, and they certainly weren't. removed the chicken and cooked 40 minutes longer. (and i cut them into 1/2 inch pieces) Tasted ok, added extra garlic, but still seemed like it was lacking something. Even used an italian seasoning instead of straight rosemary. might use this as a base for something better, but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABH83186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookhaven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Good, added white wine, need to play with and could be perfect! maybe try cream of chicken with herbs to make a light lemony cream sauce. maybe crock pot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weaverized

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Sorry, its too lemony and very bland looking. recipe is not clear . should I put it back in the oven uncovered when I add the olives and mushrooms?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
WAY to lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This was lacking all around. Edible, but not great. The potatoes took over an hour to cook, even though I sliced them pretty thin. Also, the chicken was a bit dry and bland. With all the other good chicken recipes out there, I don't even think this one is worth trying to jazz up or "fix." It was certainly edible, but not great for sure. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Nice change of pace for chicken! I had baby new potatoes, so I didn't cut them and added them after 20 minutes, but after another 20 min the larger ones weren't quite done. I'm not a huge rosemary fan, but it didn't seem to over power the dish at all (I used 2 large tsp of fresh). I didn't have green onions, so I used fresh chives instead. Chicken was juicy and tender, my 2 yr old ate it up, as did all the adults! Omitted the olives as we are not an olive family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
It was edible, but no one from age 3 to 14 enjoyed it, nor did my husband. The potatoes ended up tasting like lemony, boiled potatoes. It was a moist breast, but definitely boring. I served with Normandy Vegetables & those ended up getting eaten up, instead of the Vesuvio. Great name, bland recipe. Sorry ISYBEL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Maybe we did something wrong, but overall we found this one to be pretty bland. I've never made this dish or any version of it before, so I don't have anything to compare it to. It was just all right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I used a cut up chicken and quadrupled the marinade. I put chicken and marinade in a bag and put in fridge for 4 hours without potatoes. Did potatoes right before popping into a 300' oven for 4 hours covered with parchment and foil. It came out moist, very flavorable. Everyone just loved it! I also used dried rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States