Chicken Vesuvio Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This is my first review and the only reason I'm doing so now is because this recipe was not rated and I want more people to try it. I had not heard of this before, and when I told my husband I was making this dish with the funny sounding name, his eyes lit up and said he'd always wanted to try it, has several recipes of his own, but hasn't made it. Needless to say it was a hit. The flavors blended perfectly and was a snap to put together. The only change I made was to saute the mushrooms in some butter before adding to chicken. Served with Sesame Asparagus from this site, and my husband said it was restaurant quality. Evidently, Harry Carey's restaurant in Chicago is known for this recipe. Pls try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Ok let me start by saying I am [not] trying to be rude, but I was looking for a chicken vesuvio recipe and I found this one. I live in Chicago and I never had chicken vesuvio with mushrooms and black olives and green onion usually it is either bone in or chicken breast. I have never had it at Harry Caray’s though. Chicken is usually in white wine and herb sauce with potatoes. I am just not sure of the exact herbs. Chicken Cacciatore has mushrooms and black olives in it. Sorry I hope you take no offense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleens6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Wow, this was amazing. I only had dried rosemary, regular white potatoes, and merlot; put in a lasagna pan so everything could spread out better. I didn't change anything else, and look forward to trying it exactly as written. I kept predicting that the potatoes weren't going to be done along with the chicken, but it was perfect, almost a Greek/Italian/middle east medley. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Made this today because we love all the flavors involved. Cut recipe in half for 2 of us but had to make a lot of modification. I knew that 1 hr. would far too long for boneless chicken breasts. Cut potatoes in 1/8ths, browned the chicken lightly on each side, and baked for approx. 20 mins. before adding sauteed mushrooms. Bake another 20 mins. and even then the chicken was a little dry. The flavors are wonderful and I added more garlic (we also love rosemary). I normally do not rate a recipe that I have had to alter so much, but perhaps it will help others who have run into some of the same problems. Will make it again, but with more modifications. Certainly will not change seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was awesome! Used boneless chicken thighs, Kalamata olives and a liitle more garlic. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jay
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe was amazing! I added a lot of extra garlic, and I had to bake for about an extra 10 to 20 minutes for the chicken and potatos to be just right. It was DELICIOUS! After 30 minutes, I drizzled a bit more olive oil on the potatos. One of the best, if not THE best recipe out of the 6+ i've made on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
My family liked this recipe. I used regular yellow onions and didn't use rosemary. I added more garlic and doubled the amount of gravy next time. I needed to add 1/4 cup of chicken broth toward the end of baking because the gravy was baking away. Next time I will try making it with 1 tsp of dried rosemary. I baked it at 375 degrees for 45 - 60 minutes, basting every 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
We all liked this and thought it had alot of flavor. I like rosemary but I thought 2 tsps would be too much so I only added one. Wouldn't change anything else though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was a good recipe, though it didn't have the prettiest presentation. It was very light and flavorful, though heavy on the lemon. After reading other reviews, I was liberal with the salt and pepper and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I personally did not care for this. while the sauce was indeed quite tasty the chicken and potatoes were bland -- I marinated it for ~2 hours. Edible, but laking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States