Chicken Vesuvio Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This is my first review and the only reason I'm doing so now is because this recipe was not rated and I want more people to try it. I had not heard of this before, and when I told my husband I was making this dish with the funny sounding name, his eyes lit up and said he'd always wanted to try it, has several recipes of his own, but hasn't made it. Needless to say it was a hit. The flavors blended perfectly and was a snap to put together. The only change I made was to saute the mushrooms in some butter before adding to chicken. Served with Sesame Asparagus from this site, and my husband said it was restaurant quality. Evidently, Harry Carey's restaurant in Chicago is known for this recipe. Pls try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
The flavors of this recipe were very good, but the chicken came out a bit dry. I was surprised chicken breasts really need to cook a full hour at 400 degrees. Next time I'd be sure to use a much larger baking pan so the chicken and potatoes could be more spread out and actually roast. My husband suggested using thighs instead. I also added more potatoes and mushrooms to make it more of "meal"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
We don't care for rosemary in our house (we've decided). Strong flavor of rosemary, even using half the suggested amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
We all liked this and thought it had alot of flavor. I like rosemary but I thought 2 tsps would be too much so I only added one. Wouldn't change anything else though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This was awful, I definately wouldn't make it again. My husband specifically asked me to not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Yummy, but could use more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was awesome! Used boneless chicken thighs, Kalamata olives and a liitle more garlic. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Wow, this was amazing. I only had dried rosemary, regular white potatoes, and merlot; put in a lasagna pan so everything could spread out better. I didn't change anything else, and look forward to trying it exactly as written. I kept predicting that the potatoes weren't going to be done along with the chicken, but it was perfect, almost a Greek/Italian/middle east medley. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Delicious! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
We liked this better the our standard rosemary-garlic chicken (from this site). The lemon juice made the chicken so tender and moist. I didn't have any green onion or black olives but am definitely going to put those in next time. Thanks so much for the recipe ISYBEL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States