Chicken Vermouth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was SOOOOOO good! I used seasoned salt before cooking the chicken so I omitted the salt & pepper completely. The only complaint was that the sauce was too thin--next time, and there WILL be a next time...I will add a few tbsp of cornstarch to thicken things up as the sauce was too good to waste. I butterflied 4 chicken breasts to feed a crowd and all I heard was silence as folks enjoyed this dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Super easy, super delicious, super satisfying! I read a review that the sauce comes out too sour cream-y, so I added 1 tbsp of garlic to the sauce base, and 1 tsp of Italian seasoning to the chicken. We nearly licked the plates clean! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I thought this was a very simple and tasty dish. I did make a few changes for the ingredients that I had around the kitchen. First I used Sherry in place of vermouth, and the sour cream I had was seasoned with lipton french onion soup mix. It was very enjoyable, and I strongly suggest the dish with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I didn't have vermouth, so I used Marsala wine instead. The taste was fine - I mixed the extra sauce with rice, and it was tasty. But the presentation is not super appealing. This is something I would make when I don't have a meal plan and haven't been to the grocery store. Not a dish I would make for company because it looks like something out of the 50s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I think there should be less butter used in general, and this will make for a thicker sauce. I can see how it would be really great with rice, however. Just add some salt and pepper to taste and it's not too bland, but don't expect an explosion of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I have to confess that I made this mostly to use up a bunch of extra vermouth I had laying around. I didnt really have very high hopes for it, so I wasn't disappointed. I wouldn't say that it lacked flavor, it was very strong with the vermouth flavor. But something about the sour cream sauce made it appear very unappetizing. Overall, I would say that it wasn't bad, but I wouldn't make it again. I'll just have a martini next time I need to use up vermouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
My boyfriend and I did not like this. The sour cream taste was too strong and the sauce was too watery. It maybe better if the sauce was drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
This is absolutely wonderful. The sauce is great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States