Chicken Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
My husband claimed this was the nicest thing I've ever made! It was really yummy-I normally don't eat vegetables-but I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This stew was fantastic! The only change I made was the addition of a 1/2c of chicken broth, and a can of corn towards the end of cooking. I thought it was an aweful lot of potatoes, but they really helped thicken the liquid and make it hearty. I think the turmeric made all the difference. I was really iffy about how it would taste but oh it was wonderful! I will make this all the time. So easy and flavorful and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
We actually really liked this, I did tweek a bit by starting with Olive Oil and minced fresh garlic in Dutch oven then added the cubed chicken and I used about 1 tblsp. of the turmeric. I also added the garlic powder, some salt and pepper at this point. Cooked til chicken was almost to the point of browning then added potatoes, carrots, onion, 3tblsp. of tomato paste in 1 cup of chicken broth and added some more salt and pepper at this point due to the high volume of potatoes. I cooked on Med. low for maybe 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, then added 1/2 cup of frozen peas for color and used 1/2 cup of cold water to blend in about 2tblsp. of flour to thicken the stew. I also added a 1/2 tsp. of kitchen bouquet. Served with fresh baguette and it was perfect. Thank you so much for this recipe. This was the first time I have ever had chicken stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My family was a bit leery of the tomato paste added to the stew because they are used to seeing more of a white based sauce in my stews. Everyone loved this stew and it was very easy to make. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
My whole family loved this recipe. Thank you! I added lots of additional veggies - zucchini, peppers, broccoli, cauliflower, cherry tomatoes - but I didn't need to add any extra spices or liquid - it was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Our friends served this stew to us last night and it was delicious - I couldn't believe how easy she said it was to prepare - so I looked up the recipe and have saved it to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made this last night and it was a big hit,my husband who is a picky eater actually liked it that he had 2 big plates and there were no leftovers,I added extra turmeric,salt,pepper and garlic powder it made it taste a little better,I will definitely make this again. hint: if you don't have tomato paste, I think 1/2 cup of tomato sauce will work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Good basic chicken stew recipe, but I also added a sweet potato, celery, and more tumeric, also added chicken broth instead of water. Good basic recipe but I would spice it more for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a good basic recipe that can easily be dressed down or up. I dressed it down, at first, but found (like others) that I had to add more spices, veggies, etc. during the tasting process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I was actually really surprised about this recipe! I made it because I had all the ingredients and because I wanted something new. I was kind of skeptical about how it would turn out, but I got to say, it was pretty good. I took some suggestions of other reviewers and tweeked the recipe. First, I browned the chicken with garlic powder and black pepper before I added it to the other ingredients. Second, I omitted the carrots (because we are not big fans) and the turmeric (because I couldn't find it in the grocery store). Third, I used 1 cup of chicken broth (instead of water) and added 6 Tbsp. of tomato sauce (instead of tomato paste). It turned out a lot better than I expected. Thanks for a good recipe! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States