Chicken Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is delicious! I never make stew, well I never usually cook meat but had some chicken to use and found this recipe. I added some chicken broth and peas towards the end. it is really tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made this last night and it was a big hit,my husband who is a picky eater actually liked it that he had 2 big plates and there were no leftovers,I added extra turmeric,salt,pepper and garlic powder it made it taste a little better,I will definitely make this again. hint: if you don't have tomato paste, I think 1/2 cup of tomato sauce will work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I was actually really surprised about this recipe! I made it because I had all the ingredients and because I wanted something new. I was kind of skeptical about how it would turn out, but I got to say, it was pretty good. I took some suggestions of other reviewers and tweeked the recipe. First, I browned the chicken with garlic powder and black pepper before I added it to the other ingredients. Second, I omitted the carrots (because we are not big fans) and the turmeric (because I couldn't find it in the grocery store). Third, I used 1 cup of chicken broth (instead of water) and added 6 Tbsp. of tomato sauce (instead of tomato paste). It turned out a lot better than I expected. Thanks for a good recipe! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was pretty dry if prepared as directed (which I did, initially). That said, it is adaptable. It reminds me more of a starting point for curry. But even for that you would want more liquid, I think. The plus of it, besides adaptability is that the ingredient list is short and full of staple items. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Our friends served this stew to us last night and it was delicious - I couldn't believe how easy she said it was to prepare - so I looked up the recipe and have saved it to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
My whole family loved this recipe. Thank you! I added lots of additional veggies - zucchini, peppers, broccoli, cauliflower, cherry tomatoes - but I didn't need to add any extra spices or liquid - it was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a good basic recipe that can easily be dressed down or up. I dressed it down, at first, but found (like others) that I had to add more spices, veggies, etc. during the tasting process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My family was a bit leery of the tomato paste added to the stew because they are used to seeing more of a white based sauce in my stews. Everyone loved this stew and it was very easy to make. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Good basic chicken stew recipe, but I also added a sweet potato, celery, and more tumeric, also added chicken broth instead of water. Good basic recipe but I would spice it more for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was fine but not great once I doctored it up a bit. I did what someone else suggested and added more water and some flour to make it more like a stew. I also added a can of chicken broth. I used all the spices recommended, plus some extra turmeric, garlic powder, and a bit of Lawry's seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States