Chicken Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made this last night and it was a big hit,my husband who is a picky eater actually liked it that he had 2 big plates and there were no leftovers,I added extra turmeric,salt,pepper and garlic powder it made it taste a little better,I will definitely make this again. hint: if you don't have tomato paste, I think 1/2 cup of tomato sauce will work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I was actually really surprised about this recipe! I made it because I had all the ingredients and because I wanted something new. I was kind of skeptical about how it would turn out, but I got to say, it was pretty good. I took some suggestions of other reviewers and tweeked the recipe. First, I browned the chicken with garlic powder and black pepper before I added it to the other ingredients. Second, I omitted the carrots (because we are not big fans) and the turmeric (because I couldn't find it in the grocery store). Third, I used 1 cup of chicken broth (instead of water) and added 6 Tbsp. of tomato sauce (instead of tomato paste). It turned out a lot better than I expected. Thanks for a good recipe! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was pretty dry if prepared as directed (which I did, initially). That said, it is adaptable. It reminds me more of a starting point for curry. But even for that you would want more liquid, I think. The plus of it, besides adaptability is that the ingredient list is short and full of staple items. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Our friends served this stew to us last night and it was delicious - I couldn't believe how easy she said it was to prepare - so I looked up the recipe and have saved it to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
My whole family loved this recipe. Thank you! I added lots of additional veggies - zucchini, peppers, broccoli, cauliflower, cherry tomatoes - but I didn't need to add any extra spices or liquid - it was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a good basic recipe that can easily be dressed down or up. I dressed it down, at first, but found (like others) that I had to add more spices, veggies, etc. during the tasting process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My family was a bit leery of the tomato paste added to the stew because they are used to seeing more of a white based sauce in my stews. Everyone loved this stew and it was very easy to make. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Good basic chicken stew recipe, but I also added a sweet potato, celery, and more tumeric, also added chicken broth instead of water. Good basic recipe but I would spice it more for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was fine but not great once I doctored it up a bit. I did what someone else suggested and added more water and some flour to make it more like a stew. I also added a can of chicken broth. I used all the spices recommended, plus some extra turmeric, garlic powder, and a bit of Lawry's seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was a good meal, easy to fix and very good. I added a few things, some squash and some veggies that were left over from another meal. I'll probably make this a lot this winter, I love that chicken is making stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States